TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,198 Reviews & Articles | 40,002 News Posts

Thermaltake Core V71 Full-Tower Chassis Review - Case Build and Finished Product

Thermaltake Core V71 Full-Tower Chassis Review
The newest chassis from Thermaltake hits the lab, and we take a tour of the Core V71. Follow on as Chad tells us all about this new full-tower case.
| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 7, 2014 10:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Case Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_30_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front of the chassis comes off with a bit of a tug and exposes the pair of fans at the front, as well as showing how both ODD bays are set up. Behind the steel mesh of the front bezel, there is a finer mesh for dust protection, and the whole front panel can be removed and washed. This is also when you have access to remove the dust filter at the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_31_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

We just didn't have the heart to break up all of that clean looking mesh by installing the DVD drive, so we didn't. This leaves the chassis with a much cleaner look. We tried it with a drive and just did not like how it broke up the mesh, even if the bays are inset.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_32_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the chassis pretty much gutted, it is slightly more flexible now, but it is not so flexible that you should be worried. We had plenty of room for our ATX test system, and with 180mm of room for CPU coolers, the NiC C5 has plenty of room, and with the cages gone as we see it, 400mm of VGA room is present.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_33_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is a full two and a quarter inches of room for fans and radiators, but keep in mind, there is a ton of room under the top panel as well. For those who prefer the metric measurement, this is very near 60mm of room.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_34_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The back offered no resistance to our wishes either. The dust shield, the card, and the PSU all went in without any issues, and we even got our HD7950 to sit level in this chassis, and that is something that seems hard to accomplish in most other designs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_35_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray, we re-wired everything, used some cable extensions, and were able to come up with a very clean build as well as very clean wiring with what is offered. We can also see at the left that the drive trays will lock into the support rail offering that +2 of the storage configuration.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_36_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Bundling things back up as we get ready for testing and such, we really love the exterior styling so far, and the view inside is rivaled by very few cases on the market today.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_37_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we pushed the power button and played the timing game with the shutter and the HDD activity light, we were able to catch the red light on along with the blue LED showing which mode the fan controller is in. To show chassis power, the ring around the power button is blue and easy to see.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6241_38_thermaltake_core_v71_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once powered and everything set, the front and top offers little glimpses of blue LED through the fine mesh from the 200mm fans. We also found here that the chassis, in the low setting, gives off 28bD of noise levels, and it only moves to 35dB when the controller is set to high mode.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases