TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,573 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Vantec NexStar HX External Storage Enclosure Review

Vantec NexStar HX External Storage Enclosure Review
The latest external enclosure from Vantec has arrived as the NexStar HX. Read on as we explore the performance of this storage solution.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Mar 7, 2014 7:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Vantec

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_99_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

Storage enclosures are one of the hottest items when it comes to backing up data or taking data with you on the go. It also happens to be one of the most saturated markets, as nearly every manufacturer is catering to the needs of end users.

 

In the lab today, we have the NexStar HX from Vantec. As stated in many reviews in the past, the NexStar name is the bread and butter of Vantec. With the HX, though, things have changed slightly. While older NexStar storage enclosures were typically made of plastic, the new HX uses a metal outer shell, which adds durability to the solution. On the back, you will find eSATA and USB 3.0 connections.

 

Compatibility of the HX extends to modern Windows operating systems and OS X 10.4+. Warranty is listed at one-year.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_02_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery includes both eSATA and USB 3.0 cables along with the power adapter and reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_03_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Looking over the enclosure, notice we now have a brushed metal exterior with a large cooling fan to maintain drive temperature.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_04_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The front of the unit houses a light bar down the center that illuminates a steady blue for power and blinks with drive activity.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_05_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Over on the back, we have eSATA and USB 3.0 connections, a switch for the fan, and, of course, the power connection below.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_06_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Removing two screws from the side of the enclosure allows you to open it up for drive installation. Internally, the layout is rather simple: flip up the retainer, slide in your drive, and flip down the retainer to lock the drive in.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_10_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

Above, we have installed our SanDisk X110 SSD into the HX for testing. In ATTO read, you can see the enclosure peaked around 275 MB/s, quite enough performance for any standard 3.5-inch HDD you would install.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_11_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

Write performance for the HX was similar. We found the unit touching just over 250 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_12_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

Something new I will be adding to all reviews is price/performance. This should aide in purchase decisions. It takes into account the price for the enclosure and its relative performance. As you can see above, thanks to the excellent MSRP of the HX, the Vantec enclosure comes out on top by quite a margin.

 

I must say after spending a few weeks with the NexStar HX, it is quite the enclosure. Having installed many different drives into the device, including the 4TB WD Black, the fan installed in the enclosure does do a good job at keeping the unit cool. I found overall build quality to be equally impressive, and the outer metal shell, while adding durability to the unit, also adds a professional appeal.

 

Performance in our testing was decent; nothing too extreme, but it would do the job perfectly for its intended use with 3.5-inch hard drives.

 

MSRP of the Vantec NexStar HX sits at $39.99 with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing for the storage solution can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Vantec NexStar HX for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing, but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Vantec NexStar HX retails for $38.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Vantec NexStar HX retails for CDN$44.85 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/1/6128_1234_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/1/6128_100_vantec_nexstar_hx_external_storage_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases