TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,935 Reviews & Articles | 38,244 News Posts

Mionix Naos 7000 Optical Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Naos 7000

Mionix Naos 7000 Optical Gaming Mouse Review

If the previous two Mionix mice looked good, but you really have the desire for an optical sensor; the new Naos 7000 has that covered.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jan 21, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Mionix

Inside the Naos 7000

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_16_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Pulling apart the Naos 7000, we find a layout that is almost spot-on to the Naos 8200. However, the PCB color has been changed, and under the top layer of PCB, there is a new sensor tracking the movements.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_17_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The pair of buttons on the left of the mouse are backed with TTC red switches. These require medium pressure to activate, and give off an audible click when pressed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_18_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The DPI selector buttons are backed with Pi white switches. These take very little pressure to activate, but also offer an audible click when pressed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_19_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The left click button is backed with an Omron D2FC-F-7N; these have a twenty million click lifespan.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_20_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Moving down to the heel of the mouse, we find the ARM ST32F103 MCU that runs at 32MHz, is 32-bit, and is also where the 128kb of onboard memory is housed.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_21_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Here is the Avago ADNS3310 optical sensor. The lettering is on the right side, but due to the light gold color of the printing, it is tough to make out. This is what will be tracking all the movements, and translating them to the MCU.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_22_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As we finish the tour inside of the Naos 7000, we find the same two million click lifespan Omron switch under the right click button.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6019_23_mionix_naos_7000_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

When powering things up to make sure we got everything back together right, and the mouse is fully functional, the LED lighting turns on, and the logo and scroll wheel are now backed with blue LEDs by default. If this isn't your first choice in colors, don't worry, there are 16,799,999 other choices to pick from.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases