TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,911 Reviews & Articles | 38,072 News Posts

SilverStone Raven 4 B-W Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

SilverStone Raven 4 B-W Full-Tower Chassis Review

SilverStone brings forth the latest evolution of the Raven chassis line up. With a whole new take on the design, the unique Raven 4 hits the market.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 22, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: SilverStone

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_29_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Getting started, I removed the top of the chassis to install the PSU. If you have optical drives installed, the room for connectivity between them is somewhat limited, but I was left with roughly three inches of room for wiring and connectivity. Also, note that the fan is up to utilize the venting in the roof of the RV04.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_30_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since it is designed to, I removed the three screws, slid the tray slightly to the front of the chassis, and removed it so I could install the motherboard to it much easier than if it was still inside of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_31_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After much more assembly and wiring, we are now ready to show off the completed build. The ODD is installed, and it lines up very well with the inner fascia. I also left the dust filter in place for this image, so that you can see what it looks like behind the door.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_32_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside I did take advantage of the fan duct for its wiring purposes to keep the fan wiring under control. I did not need the VGA support for the card I chose, so I left it and the large HDD rack out for this build. I also added the TD03, and had no issues with it fitting in the optional fan location.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_33_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back of the RV04, everything goes right into place with ease. The PSU, expansion card, rear I/O cover, even the AIO, it just all went together without any fight and required no flexing to get things lined up.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_34_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

While the room is a bit limited, I was able to run all of my cabling in behind the tray. There is one thing to point out, if you do plan to attach any wiring to the motherboard tray, it makes removal of said tray impossible at that point. Even though tougher than most to wire, I was able to come up with this and the door fits cleanly over it all.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_35_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The Raven 4 is now all buttoned up and awaiting some power to get on with the testing phase of our using this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5817_36_silverstone_raven_4_b_w_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powered up, the Raven 4 comes to life. It is easy to tell in two ways if your RV04 has power. The easiest is to look at the red LED on the front, but if you are anywhere close to it, the sound of this chassis is also something you will notice.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases