TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,072 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ROCCAT Kone Pure Optical Core Performance Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the ROCCAT Kone Pure Optical Mouse

ROCCAT Kone Pure Optical Core Performance Gaming Mouse Review

ROCCAT delivers a Kone laser mouse that is all about the tech and less about the flash and bragging rights. Let's take a look at the Optical Core.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Aug 30, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: ROCCAT

Inside the ROCCAT Kone Pure Optical Mouse

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_20_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After removing the feet and four screws, I was able to separate the halves of the mouse. I did also have to disconnect a cable to allow me to take an image of the PCB that has the switches behind the scroll wheel, and above that is another layer for the DPI switches.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_21_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Pulling out the two screws in the last image, I was able to easily get to both PCBs at the top, this one for the page forward and EasyShift[+] key. These are backed with TTC switches and are a good secondary choice for lesser used switches.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_22_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The DPI buttons are backed with these much smaller black pad type switches. While I would like to see better switches used, at default you shouldn't use these much, but with the option to change everything about the layout, these could get used by certain users way more than they are intended for.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_23_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Then of course we have the lower section of the Kone Pure Optical. Besides the empty clip where I unplugged the top half from the base, there is also a layer of black tape laid over the optical sensor and its eye to keep the rear LED from interfering as well as keeping the optical sensor from bleeding through the cracks outside the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_24_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Under the left click button of this mouse, ROCCAT backs it up with a D2FC-F-7N Omron switch since this is the most used button on any mouse and deserves a better feel and much more longevity than other solutions.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_25_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right side of the mouse also has the same Omron switch under the right click button. As for the scroll wheel center click functionality, that is up to the red TTC switch under the arm of the wheel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_26_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

In command of tracking where you hand is moving this mouse, ROCCAT has opted to fit in the Avago ADNS 3090 optical sensor, which is currently the top of the line when it comes to optical sensing in mice.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_27_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Communicating between the PC and the mouse, ROCCAT chose to install the 32-bit STM32 MCU. This ARM Cortex M3 processor operates at 72MHz, and uses an 8MHz oscillator chip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_28_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

This is a look at the LPC built, MXIC 25L40065 microcontroller is where they store the 576KB of onboard memory to allow you not to have to take software on the go, you can keep Macros and profiles right in the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5710_29_roccat_kone_pure_optical_core_performance_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

With the Kone Pure Optical now all back in one piece, I went ahead and powered things up. What you notice is that the logo is now glowing red by default, and is also set in a breathing or pulsing mode. Remember, this can all be easily changed in the software to fit your needs.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below