TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

CM Storm QuickFire XT Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - Inside the QuickFire XT

CM Storm QuickFire XT Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review
There is a new, slightly tweaked mechanical keyboard in town from Cooler Master. It is now time to delve into the QuickFire XT.
| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Aug 15, 2013 10:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: CM Storm

Inside the QuickFire XT

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_26_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I like to get a look at the PCB and to see if the steel plate is actually very resilient. In the case of the XT, the PCB is very cleanly soldered and all flux is removed before assembly. As for the steel plate attached, I could not flex it in any way by hand, and is very solid component to strengthen this keyboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_27_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Flipping the keyboard over, you will find the controller PCB in the top right corner. This controller is connected with 36 legs in two sockets, and could be replaced if anything should happen to it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_28_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I was very careful to lift this straight off the PCB, as I did not want to damage these legs at all to get you a look underneath of it so you can see what is going on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_29_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The Holtek HT82K94 is 8-bit as well as 16-bit ready and offers 40 bi-directional lanes of communications to get the job done here. The oscillator chip operates at 6MHz, but the Holtek chip will also accept 12MHz oscillators, it is just not used here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_30_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

After reinstalling the controller, setting the switches and steel plate back into the bottom tray, snapping all the lock together for the top half of the plastic frame, and then inserting both screws, I was able to get the board back together. It was at this point that I pulled some of the caps to show the Cherry MX blue switches used here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_31_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

At this point I went forward and installed the super bright red keycaps onto the field to show you what they would look like in use. You may also notice that now the left Windows button is sporting the Cooler Master name.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_32_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I also replaced the right Windows button with the CM Storm logo. Just so you know both of these keycaps for the Windows switches are interchangeable for the ALT, CTRL and FN keys.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5656_33_cm_storm_quickfire_xt_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

In the last image we are going to see of the QuickFire XT mechanical gaming keyboard, we are now powered up and fully illuminated. As you can see, there is no backlighting for any of the keys, but there is the Windows lock shown with the red LED on the F9 key, and of course the three LEDs to the right are illuminated showing that the numbers, caps and scroll locks are all currently active.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases