TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,060 Reviews & Articles | 38,954 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

ASUS Z87-Expert (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - ASUS Z87-Expert Motherboard

ASUS Z87-Expert (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review
The first Haswell Intel Z87 retail motherboard we look at comes from ASUS in the form of the Z87-Expert. (TPE:2357)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 10, 2013 3:22 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: ASUS

ASUS Z87-Expert Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_07_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving onto the motherboard you can straight away see the new color scheme that is being used by ASUS. We've got the typical black PCB that we're used to seeing, but what is new is the yellow and gold highlights. I'm quite a fan of the new design and I'm looking forward to seeing more boards from ASUS come with it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_08_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

You can see we've got a total of three PCIe x1 slots and three PCIe x16 slots which run in either x16 or x8 / x8 or x8 x4 x4 depending on how many of the slots you are using.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_09_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the bottom of the board you can see the standard line up of headers along with four USB 2.0 headers and our main connector headers on the far right. Also here you can see a power button, LED debug reader along with a FLBK and DirectKey switch across the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_10_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of eight SATA ports. The six yellow ones are all SATA III and run off the Intel Z87 controller. The last two brown ports are also SATA III, but run off the ASMedia ASM1061 controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_11_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading towards the top end of the board you can see four DDR3 DIMM slots which support up to 32GB of DDR3 at speeds ranging from 1333MHz to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking. Here you can also see the main 24-pin ATX power connector and just to the left of that we have a USB 3.0 header.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_12_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_13_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving around to the CPU side of things you can see the main 8-pin CPU power connector. The socket area like most these days is clean. Here we can also see the new heatsink design which looks and feels great.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5530_14_asus_z87_expert_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finishing up with the I/O side of things you can see we've got a combo PS2 port along with a total of six USB 3.0 ports which run off the Intel Z87 chipset. You can also see two ports for our antenna that is included in the box which supports Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n. Video out comes through a HDMI, VGA and DVI-D port. Gigabit networking is provided by Intel I217V controller and finally you can see an optical out port and five auxiliary ports that run off the Realtek ALC1150.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases