TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,747 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Patriot Memory EP Series 64GB SDXC UHS-I Memory Card Review

Patriot Memory EP Series 64GB SDXC UHS-I Memory Card Review

Need performance for TrueHD recording? Patriot's EP Series 64GB SDXC UHS-I memory card might be for you.

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Mar 30, 2013 5:29 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Patriot

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_99_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

 

SD memory cards have been around for quite some time. In fact, what started out as a joint venture between SanDisk and Toshiba in 1999 has ballooned into the industry standard for storing digital media on cameras and camcorders and even that fancy new Raspberry Pi you just purchased.

 

Since the launch of the SD card it has undergone a number of changes to keep up with modern devices giving us two classes of SD cards with five sub-classes to choose from, those being Speed Class 2,4,6,10 and UHS Speed Class I. Each of these classes are designated by the sustained write performance of the drive i.e. a class 4 drive has a minimum 4MB/s sustained write speed, class 6 a 6MB/s sustained write speed and so on. Many SD cards will employ two speed classes one for the SD Speed Class and the other for the UHS Speed Class, because the two are not compatible.

 

The SDXC card we will be looking over today, the EP Series, comes from Patriot Memory and carries a UHS Speed Class I and SD Speed Class of 10 with marketing specifications of 50MB/s read and 35MB/s write. This memory card comes in two flavours, those being 64GB and 128GB with our sample being the 64GB version. As with many of Patriot's products, this SDXC card is warrantied for five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_02_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The EP Series 64GB SDXC card comes in a plastic case to keep your drive safe during travel or for safe keeping.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_03_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking over the card, Patriot chose to dress it up a bit with custom graphics emphasizing the EP. Along the bottom the speed class is listed along with its capacity of 64GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_04_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back of the card lists the model number along with its place of manufacture.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_05_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Pulling the card apart we find that Patriot chose to secure the NAND and controller for this SDXC card with another layer of plastic. This gives the card waterproof capabilities shielding the internals from all weather conditions.

 

To test Secure Digital cards we utilize the same benchmarks we use for flash drives. These include CrystalDiskMark, ATTO and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the Vantec UGT-CR935.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_06_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Looking over our ATTO results we see the Patriot EP exceeded marketing specifications by a slim margin with 39MB/s write and 56MB/s read.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_07_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

CDM produced similar numbers as well with the EP series giving us 54MB/s read and ~39MB/s write. 512K results were also impressive during the read test with them falling off slightly during write operations.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_08_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Transferring our 10MP RAW file shot with our Panasonic Lumix took only 1.3 seconds at a rate of 11.2MB/s. For a comparison I ran this exact test on a Class 4 card and came up with 1.8 seconds at 8MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_09_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The video used in this test was shot with a Panasonic x900 Camcorder at 1080p 60FPS. Transferring this video to our SDXC card took 38 seconds at a rate of 36MB/s. If we compare this to our class 4 card that was capable of 16MB/s and took nearly two minutes to transfer the same video, it becomes clear the UHS Class I Patriot EP excels in this area.

 

When it comes to aesthetics the Patriot Memory EP Series does have a bit of added flare with the custom design and pronounced EP logo on the front of the card.

 

As far as performance is concerned Patriot has done a great job with this 64GB SDXC giving it UHS Class I specifications and living up to the standard as well. In our testing we were able to achieve numbers slightly above marketing specs in both ATTO and CDM with both tests seeing 56MB/s read and 38MB/s write.

 

After running through DiskBench and comparing this EP model to our previous Class 4 card, we don't see too much improvement transferring our 10MP RAW file. However transferring our 1080p video was nearly twice as fast.

 

As of this writing pricing for the Patriot EP Series SDXC card will dock you $49.99 for the 64GB and $139.99 for the larger 128GB setup.

 

TweakTown image 5/2/5275_1234_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/2/5275_100_patriot_memory_ep_series_64gb_sdxc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases