TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,915 Reviews & Articles | 38,109 News Posts

GX Gaming Gila MMO/RTS Professional Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Gila

GX Gaming Gila MMO/RTS Professional Gaming Mouse Review

GX Gaming is back, this time with the Gila laser mouse for MMO and RTS gamers.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Feb 11, 2013 8:51 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: GX Gaming

Inside the Gila

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_17_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After locating five or six screws, I was able to open the Gila. You can see already that there is a lot going on in this little mouse, so let's keep digging and see what is inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_18_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The pair of side buttons, more specifically the M7 and M8 buttons are controlled with a PCB and switches buried at the top of this image, and talks to the main board via the ribbon cable. The buttons on the top of the mouse hit switches located on the bottom half.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_19_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

To get to see the lowest layer of PCBs in the Gila, I had to remove this smaller section. This offers three switches for the M5, M6, and the sniper button. It also has an LED on it to illuminate the GX Gaming name on the heel of the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_20_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Now that the PCB is out of the way you can see the lowest layer of controls and the brains of the Gila. The large section at the bottom of this image is a steel plate that has been screwed into the Gila for a basic weighting before you add any additional.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_21_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Under the right and left click buttons you will find Omron switches to ensure many clicks and a long life. The two smaller brown switches you can see are used with the M1 and M2 buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_22_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Taking control of the laser tracking in the Gila is this Avago ADNS9800 chip with the teal paint on it. The SG Core II micro-processor is just behind it with the orange and yellow dots on it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_23_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Reassembling my Gila, I then powered it up via the USB cable, and the mouse comes to life with the stock settings of the illuminated backlighting. The center of the scroll wheel illuminates, and can be changed to any color you wish, but the DPI selection noted here is always red.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_24_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

To go along with the bright red accents, red lighting would have been my first choice, but seeing the blue coming from the pair of "tail lights" is a nice mix as well. As with all of the lights, these can be set to all the color options as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_25_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The "head lights" on the Gila are set default to red, and to be honest it is kind of dim being red. This is making me think I may need to go with another color than my planned all red theme.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5184_26_gx_gaming_gila_mmo_rts_professional_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

This last image was to try to get all the lights I could in one shot. You can see that the tail lights are on, and even the green glow behind the GX Gaming name is a nice addition. The Gila looked slick enough before the lights, but it does look much better with these added lights all around the mouse, I must give them that.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases