TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,073 Reviews & Articles | 39,007 News Posts

MyDigitalSSD BP4 2.5-inch 240GB SSD Review - MyDigitalSSD BP4 240GB SSD

MyDigitalSSD BP4 2.5-inch 240GB SSD Review
Always on the cutting edge of flash technology, leading the capacity vs. price ration, MyDigitalSSD is back with a new, faster Bullet Proof. BP4 uses new Toshiba Toggle 2 NAND with 16K page sizes for higher performance and the new over-provisioning increases random performance.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 6, 2013 8:45 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: MyDigitalSSD

MyDigitalSSD BP4 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5178_03_mydigitalssd_bp4_2_5_inch_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the MyDigitalSSD BP4. These drives are so new they shipped without a label and we later received the sticker just prior to the review. I'm sure MDSSD will do a much better job at getting the label strait, something I could use some practice doing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5178_04_mydigitalssd_bp4_2_5_inch_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There really isn't much to see on the outside since SSDs are all about the internal components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5178_05_mydigitalssd_bp4_2_5_inch_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

This is MDSSD's first 7mm z-height drive. We knew it wouldn't be too long for a 7mm drive to enter the lineup since MDSSD focuses on the mobile market with a keen eye for new technology that reduces the cost of ownership.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5178_06_mydigitalssd_bp4_2_5_inch_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5178_07_mydigitalssd_bp4_2_5_inch_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the internals. The Phison S8 controller was in the BP3, but the new programming and firmware make the updated version faster across the board.

 

We weren't able to find a lot of information on the DRAM chip. PSC (Powerchip Semiconductor Corp) and Elpida Memory announced a joint venture in Dec 2011 and since then it's been a bit difficult to find all of the fine details. We're told this is a 256MB chip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5178_08_mydigitalssd_bp4_2_5_inch_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

This drive uses eight of the new Toshiba Toggle 2 NAND chips built on the new second gen 19nm process. The new 16K page size increases sequential performance... as you're about to see.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases