TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,071 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

GIGABYTE GR-EZI04H 4-Bay NAS Review - GIGABYTE GR-EZI04H 4-Bay NAS

A familiar name ventures into an unfamiliar market. GIGABYTE expands its horizons and enters the NAS market with a product that works well in your home or small office. Get your digital collections ready.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Nov 30, 2012 9:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE GR-EZI04H 4-Bay NAS

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_08_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the GIGABYTE GR-EZI04H 4-Bay NAS. The front door locks to help keep your drives secure. The front door is plastic, but this unit is designed for your home or small office so we don't expect CIA level security.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_09_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

With the door open, we have easy access to the four drive sleds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_10_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The power button is at the top and hides behind the door. This is important for security since you don't want others coming long and turning your NAS off. There are a number of status LEDs on the unit, eight in two rows and a power status light in the middle of the NAS on the left side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_11_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Each drive sled has a locking mechanism on it so you can add another layer of security to the storage components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_12_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The NAS has a small footprint and uses a closed cover design so all of the airflow passes over the HDDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_13_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Cooling comes from dual 80mm low speed fans. The system is quiet at all times, a must for a home NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_14_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we have the connection panel. At the top is a VGA display port. Further down we found dual USB 3.0 ports, two USB 2.0 ports and then the dual gigabit Ethernet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_15_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_16_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

You may not realize how important the bottom of a NAS is, but when you have a unit without rubber feet, you learn really fast. Vibration can transfer from the drives to the desk and vibrate everything including items off your desk. GIGABYTE did a good job and the GR-EZI04H 4 and we couldn't hear the Western Digital RED HDDs even when seeking random data.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_17_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The drive bays are solid and can hold both 3.5" and 2.5" form factor drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_18_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

We popped the top to have a look around the NAS. Sadly, the SODIMM slot wasn't located on this side of the board, so user upgrades aren't as easy as they could have been.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5064_19_gigabyte_gr_ezi04h_4_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Here you can see how tightly packed everything is inside the NAS. This is how GIGABYTE managed to keep the overall size reduced to such a small footprint on your desk or shelf.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases