TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,089 News Posts

Cooler Master Storm Recon Optical Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the CM Storm Recon

CM Storm delivers an optical sensor based gaming mouse capable of 4000 DPI, Macros, and a ton of profiles. Come take a look at what the Recon beings to your fingertips.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Oct 29, 2012 2:40 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: CM Storm

Inside the CM Storm Recon

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_16_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After removing the screw and gently working my way around the outside edge separating the top from the bottom, this is what I found in the end. Be very careful removing the top, the wiring is kept very short between the top halves PCB for the six buttons there and the PCB in the base with the sensor and LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_17_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Removing the PCB from the top of the Recon shows that all six of the buttons, DPI, and the two buttons on both sides, are all backed with TTC switches. There is also an LED between the two center switches to illuminate the DPI buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_18_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The scroll wheel also uses a TTC switch, but the right and left clicks are backed by higher quality Omron switches.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_19_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

There is a plastic prism at the bottom of the Avago 3090 sensor that directs the sensors beam to the mousing surface to be able to tell where you are on the mat, and thus where you are on the screen.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_20_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

This is the 16-bit chip that does the cross talking between the inputs of the user and the PC. As much as I tried, with a couple of the letters a bit marred and touch to read, I wasn't able to track down the manufacturer of this chip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_21_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

In this angle you can get a better sense of the prism used for the sensor, and I also wanted to show off the large LED that will be backlighting the CM Storm logo found on the heel of the Recon.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_22_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After a bit of reassembly and plugging the USB connector in, the Recon will glow in the factory red LED lighting. From the back you can see the logo, the DPI buttons, and the scroll wheel all come to lighted life.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5021_23_cooler_master_storm_recon_optical_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Looking at the Recon from the front when it is powered up, I am pleased to see with as bright as the wheel and logo are, there no leakage of light around the wheel or any of the backlit components for that matter, making what does light up really pop against the matte finish.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases