TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,563 News Posts

Swiftech Apogee Drive II Integrated Pump and Waterblock Review - Installation and Finished Product

Swiftech simplifies the life of water loop builders with the Apogee Drive II CPU water block and pump combo.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 16, 2012 3:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Swiftech

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_29_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

To get to this all you need to do is set the back plate in place and screw the thumbscrews in alternating to keep it level. All I had to do next was tie up a bit of wiring for the 4-pin fan connector I placed on the CPU header. The Molex connection running over the top will get connected later.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_30_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

In the back, with the screws all the way in, the only thing you may need to worry about is placing the notch in the correct spot as not to bind on the socket screws. On top of this one, just like the 1366 version, there are four white pads to isolate it from the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_31_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

I just wanted to take a picture from this angle to give you an idea of the overall height. What you are seeing is a block with a pump on top that is still shorter than some of those fancy heat spreaders on memory.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_32_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

I raised the angle just a bit to show you what I was talking about. Even with the inlet and outlet hanging off the sides, I am well within the CPU constraints, but I can also still populate all of the memory slots.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_33_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and grabbed some black half inch ID, three quarter inch OD tubing to use for testing purposes. You can see that with the plastic clips provided it is no problem to get them around even the thickest of tubing choices out there.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_34_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

Powering up the PC brings the Apogee Drive II to life. Along with an ever so slight hum of the pump at 4500 RPM, the LED inside of the heatsink illuminates and is pretty darn bright. You can easily see it in any rig as long as the tubing doesn't block the angle of view.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4989_35_swiftech_apogee_drive_ii_integrated_pump_and_waterblock_review.jpg

 

Here we have the loop filled and all the components ready for testing. You may also notice another component that I will be doing the review for here in the next day or so. Keep your eyes peeled for that one.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases