TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,814 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

ARCTIC MC001-BD Entertainment Center PC with Blu-ray Player Review - Inside the ARCTIC MC001-BD Entertainment Center PC

Want an HTPC that is sleek, silent and pretty much plug and play? Then we suggest you look at what the ARCTIC MC001-BD offers.

| Players & Accessories in HT & Movies | Posted: Jun 6, 2012 4:16 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ARCTIC

Inside the ARCTIC MC001-BD Entertainment Center PC

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_15_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

This is the cooler for the Intel Atom D525 CPU that runs at 1.8GHz and the ATI Mobility HD5430 GPU with 512MB of DDR3 memory. I would loved to have been able to pull the cooler off to show you what is going on underneath this, but I would swear the board and cooler are put together and slid into the chassis and a panel then placed on. I couldn't seem to find a way to remove it without bending metal.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_16_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

Here is a look from the other end of the chassis. You can see there is a lot going on in this tiny space. There is the large chipset cooler, the TV tuner, CMOS battery, media card reader and I/O connectivity all backed into this 40mm thick compartment.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_17_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

They do back the Intel Atom processor with 4GB of Team Group memory. These 2GB SO-DIMMs are rated at 1333MHz and run at CL9. It's nothing really extreme, but it's enough to get the job done.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_18_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

As much as I looked I couldn't find information leading to a manufacturer of the 4-in-1 media card reader, but none the less, here is an image of it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_19_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

As far as the DVB-T TV tuner included in the kit, the HU393-T leads back to the thumb drive tuner made by MaxMedia. Just in this instance since it is internal, the thumb drive shell has been removed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_20_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

I was able to remove the large heat sink over the chipset to expose what is used here. It is in fact the Intel NM10 Express chipset to control the USB, PCI, gigabit LAN, HD audio, PCI Express and SATA ports along with connecting to both the BIOS and the CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_21_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

As I removed the plastic cover on the top I found the 500GB hard drive sandwiched between layers of foil tape to keep the heat of the drive separated from the rest of the PC, as well as trying to keep it from warming the plastic cover.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more HT & Movies content at our HT & Movies reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases