TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

Thecus N8900 8-Bay Rackmount NAS Review - The Thecus N8900 Internals

We flex the 10GbE option to see just how fast the new Thecus N8900 is!

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Nov 27, 2011 2:53 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Thecus

The Thecus N8900 Internals

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4447_20_thecus_n8900_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

I'm asked all the time about the inner workings of NAS servers. Many people think these are made from off the shelf PC components, but in most cases that isn't true. The Thecus N8900 uses several specialized components that are designed by Thecus.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4447_21_thecus_n8900_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

The CPU is cooled with a Cooler Master heatsink and fan that is actually very quiet. That doesn't mean the NAS is quiet, we'll get to that in a minute, though. Only two of the four available RAM slots are populated so you can easily add more memory. Our N8900 shipped with Transcend DDR3, 4GB per stick.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4447_22_thecus_n8900_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we see the expansion port area that has two free 8x PCIe ports and a 4x PCIe port. The single lane PCIe is used by the USB 3.0 card that has two USB 2.0 ports.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4447_23_thecus_n8900_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

The NAS's internal software is kept on a 1GB flash drive that is mirrored to a second 1GB flash card. This is a redundant system.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4447_24_thecus_n8900_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

There are two layers in the NAS so the motherboard is raised up more than it would be in most 2U servers. The raised area goes past the motherboard and into the drive bay area. Because of this, Thecus didn't have room for 80mm fans. The NAS has two 60mm fans that are pretty loud. We would have liked to have seen quieter 80mm fans used in the system. The fans can be easily hot swapped without shutting down the system if they need to be replaced in the field. The bracket system used on the N8900 makes removal and installation very easy.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4447_25_thecus_n8900_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

The motherboard uses digital power switching just like high end motherboards used in enthusiast class systems.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4447_26_thecus_n8900_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

This is the first time I've noticed the new CMOS battery that is about half the size of normal CMOS batteries. This allowed Thecus to save some space on the board.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases