TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,136 Reviews & Articles | 39,423 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

BitFenix Colossus Window Full Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

The Colossus gets a more mainstream appeal with this latest submission from BitFenix.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 29, 2011 3:26 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: BitFenix

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3960_26_bitfenix_colossus_window_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even with the drive in you aren't going to see it, as you simply close the door. I took a side angle shot to show you what 160mm of air cooler looks like inside as well. There is plenty of room for even the largest of air coolers inside.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3960_27_bitfenix_colossus_window_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

All the wiring easily found a trail to run in and pop out where I needed them, leaving a very clean build inside. You have plenty of room to work, and plenty of room for water cooling if needed as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3960_28_bitfenix_colossus_window_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With all things the same as the last image, just placing the door back on, it really gives you an idea of the level of tinting it has. Until you light things up under power, the view inside is limited.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3960_29_bitfenix_colossus_window_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I know you never really see the back, but I do like when all things come together. With all the black components installed even the back of the chassis keeps that clean look.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3960_30_bitfenix_colossus_window_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I took the wiring to extremes in this build, as it seems they are just going all over the place. I just wanted to show off a bit of how easy this chassis is to wire. Not only is there a ton of room to pass the thickest of wiring, all the punched out tabs keep them strapped in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3960_31_bitfenix_colossus_window_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under power the chassis starts to glow. In this version the winged logo and the five bars turn red. The top fan also glows red but due to the tight mesh it is tougher to photograph. In the case of the Venom the lights will be green, and in the white version, these lights will be blue.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3960_99_bitfenix_colossus_window_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I don't have a ton of interior lighting so I figured I would just get a close-up of "potential"; as you can see the etched logo will brighten with LED lighting. Since the window is so dark, you can flood the interior with a lot of light before it wants to flood the room with those lights. If the LEDs bother you at night, the Spectre fans and the case LEDs can be shut off with a button in the S3 compartment.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases