TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,007 Reviews & Articles | 38,761 News Posts

Smooth Creations "Goliath" Core i7-980X Custom Gaming PC - Packaging, Internals and Set-Up

A companion piece to Smooth Creations custom Battlefield system we looked at recently, today we have a real show-stopper on the test bench - the mighty Goliath!

| Gaming Desktop PCs in Computer Systems | Posted: Nov 22, 2010 3:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Smooth Creations

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_026.jpg

 

The review system arrived via FEDEX Freight in an enormous wooden crate (the lower one) on a pallet. A Smooth Creations rep stated that the company's high-end systems all ship this way.

 

A quick note: This particular system has been making the rounds among various publications, which means we didn't receive this system directly from Smooth Creations. As such, some of the packaging might not be what a retail customer would receive. Similarly, the hard drive contained test software from other reviewers, so we aren't able to comment on the software configuration.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_027.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_028.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_029.jpg

 

The crate is huge. One could easily fit two people (or three contortionists) inside it. After removing the top of the crate, we see much of the interior volume is taken up by foam blocks to stabilize and cushion the system box.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_030.jpg

 

After removing the white fabric cover, we get our first good look at this custom-painted, doublewide chassis. The steam-punkish artwork looks great. Just as we saw on the Battlefield system, the graphics are quite sharp, not grainy or pixilated.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_01.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_02.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_03.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_06.jpg

 

Unlike the Battlefield machine, Smooth Creations shipped this system with the video cards already installed. With all wires and coolant tubes snaking through the machine's internals, they most likely do this to reduce the risk of the customer accidentally knocking something loose.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_07.jpg

 

No shortage of I/O to be found with this system. The front panel sports a multi-card reader, 2xUSB 2.0, a 5 volt power USB (also known as USB Plus Power or Retail USB), a 12 volt power USB, an eSATA port, power eSATA port and headphone & mic jacks.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_04.jpg

 

The ASUS Rampage III x58 LGA 1366 motherboard provides even more places to plug stuff in. We find 6xUSB 2.0, a single PS/2 keyboard input, a CLR_CMOS button for resetting the BIOS, S/PDIF optical out, eSATA, FireWire, Ethernet port, multichannel analog audio outs, and a "ROG Connect" port, which allows on-the-fly overclocking. There's also a small dongle for RC Bluetooth.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_05.jpg

 

We also get a small switch that turns off some of the case lighting.

 


Internals

 

Things are a bit crowded inside, as there's lots of stuff in there. However, since this system is liquid cooled, unimpeded airflow is less of a necessity.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_08.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_09.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_010.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_011.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_012.jpg

 

The left half of the chassis (looking at the system from the front) houses the traditional PC guts: motherboard, GPUs, etc.). The right side houses the bulkier bits of the liquid cooling apparatus.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_013.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_014.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_015.jpg

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_016.jpg

 


Documentation & Accessories

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3665_031.jpg

 

The accessories box held a black binder containing software and documentation. We received discs for Far Cry 2 and Nero 8.

 

The documentation in the binder consisted of various build checklists, benchmarks, system stats and warranty information.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Computer Systems content at our Computer Systems reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases