TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,778 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 'Thin Sniff' 256GB SSD Preview - Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 256GB SSD

Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 'Thin Sniff' 256GB SSD Preview
You don't hear a lot about this drive since it's a business class product, but it does pack some new technology and innovative features straight from Toshiba's R&D department.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jan 30, 2013 7:10 am
Manufacturer: Toshiba

Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_03_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS drive. It's a system builder drive so there isn't a box for us to mull over and the drive itself is fairly plain and lacks the big in your face color scheme of a typical retail selling drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_04_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

It's basically an SSD designed for endurance and low cost. This one just happens to be pretty quick and packs some cool features.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_05_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

The GCSS model is a 7mm design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_06_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_07_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Inside we found a thermal pad on each chip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_08_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Here we see the empty space for a DRAM chip. This is significant because the only modern SSD design without a DRAM buffer comes from LSI SandForce.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_09_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

All of the chips are on the top side of the drive. There are eight NAND flash chips in total.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_10_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

The controllers are labeled with both Toshiba and Marvell. We know Toshiba built the firmware. We think Marvell just spun the hardware to Toshiba's specs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_11_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Toshiba's 19nm Toggle 2 flash. We're starting to see this die size in more products as the existing supply of 24nm starts to fade away.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases