TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,229 News Posts

Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 'Thin Sniff' 256GB SSD Preview - Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 256GB SSD

Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 'Thin Sniff' 256GB SSD Preview

You don't hear a lot about this drive since it's a business class product, but it does pack some new technology and innovative features straight from Toshiba's R&D department.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jan 30, 2013 7:10 am
Manufacturer: Toshiba

Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_03_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Toshiba THNSNF256GCSS drive. It's a system builder drive so there isn't a box for us to mull over and the drive itself is fairly plain and lacks the big in your face color scheme of a typical retail selling drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_04_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

It's basically an SSD designed for endurance and low cost. This one just happens to be pretty quick and packs some cool features.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_05_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

The GCSS model is a 7mm design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_06_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_07_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Inside we found a thermal pad on each chip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_08_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Here we see the empty space for a DRAM chip. This is significant because the only modern SSD design without a DRAM buffer comes from LSI SandForce.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_09_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

All of the chips are on the top side of the drive. There are eight NAND flash chips in total.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_10_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

The controllers are labeled with both Toshiba and Marvell. We know Toshiba built the firmware. We think Marvell just spun the hardware to Toshiba's specs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5176_11_toshiba_thnsnf256gcss_thin_sniff_256gb_ssd_preview.jpg

 

Toshiba's 19nm Toggle 2 flash. We're starting to see this die size in more products as the existing supply of 24nm starts to fade away.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases