Technology and gaming content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,549 Reviews & Articles | 60,027 News Posts

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review (Page 3)

Chad Sebring | Jan 16, 2020 at 11:50 am CST - 3 mins, 32 secs reading time for this page
Rating: 68%Manufacturer: TEAMModel: TDZAD416G4000HC18JDC01

Test System Details

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 10 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the following CPU-Z images as well as the performance seen in the charts, we are using this AMD system to do so. For this system, we were helped by ASUS, Corsair, and GIGABYTE. Shout outs go to them for supporting us!

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 11 | TweakTown.com

After clearing CMOS and getting into the BIOS to set DOCP, we can see that the T-Force DRAK Z Alpha does indeed run as intended. Our C8H motherboard automatically changes the VDIMM to 1.35 while still keeping the SOC voltage at 1.08V while delivering the 4000MHz at 18-22-22-42 1T rated speed and timings shown on the packaging.

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 12 | TweakTown.com

After running the DOCP benches, we then move to attempt to lower the timings. In this attempt, we did not get far, but for a 4000MHz kit of DDR4, we are pleased to see that we could get them down to 16-21-21-42 1T with full stability at 1T command rate. At this time, we did bump the VDIMM to 1.45 and the SOC to 1.18V.

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 13 | TweakTown.com

Using the same voltages as we used for the low-timings benches, we opted to reset the DOCP timings and look for maximum speed. While we did get to 4400MHz in Windows, it was not stable enough for testing, so we opted to run them at 4333MHz with full stability. Still, pretty impressive for as little as we had to do to get here.

Chad's AMD DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 14 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the following CPU-Z images as well as the performance seen in the charts, we are using this Intel system to do so. For this system, we were helped by Corsair, and are using the same card from GIGABYTE seen in the AMD rig. Shout outs go to them for supporting us here as well!

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 15 | TweakTown.com

Enabling XMP on the Intel system delivers us 4000MHz of speed with 18-22-22-42 timings, but this time it defaults to the 2T command rate. As for the voltages, our X299 OCF motherboard swapped the VDIMM to 1.35V as expected, but also took the VCCIO and VCCSA to 1.35V for this kit, based on the speed. 1.20V on both VCCIO and VCCSA seemed to work with stability for us, but we left it as-is for testing purposes.

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 16 | TweakTown.com

Since the VCCIO and VCCSA were already jacked up to where we feel should be max for daily use, we went back to the BIOS and adjusted only the VDIMM to the 1.45V cap we use. In doing so, we see the same timings reached when trying to lower them here as we did on the AMD system. 16-21-21-42 seems to be the bottom of this kit, even when opting for the 2T command rate.

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha DDR4-4000 16GB Memory Kit Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Overclocking for maximum speed is somewhat hampered on the Intel system. While the BIOS could use some love for the newer memory coming out, we tried all sorts of dividers and bus speeds, all to find that the best we could get with the DARK Z Alpha was the 4133MHz we see in this screenshot.

Chad's Intel DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Last updated: Jan 17, 2020 at 06:11 am CST

Buy at Amazon

TEAM T-Force DARK Z Alpha

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
Buy at Amazon
$84.99$84.99$83.99
* Prices last scanned on 4/5/2020 at 4:58 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.
Chad Sebring

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chad Sebring

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags