Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,485 Reviews & Articles | 65,422 News Posts

Antec Sonata Proto Mid Tower Chassis (Page 7)

By Chad Sebring from Jun 8, 2010 @ 1:50 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Antec

The Build and Finished Product

content/3/3/3338_25.jpg

Loading the Proto full of components was simple. Even with no rear access everything went smooth. The case badge fits nicely in the indentation on the door and adds the only flash you will see in the Sonata Proto.

content/3/3/3338_26.jpg

Releasing six little tabs on the inside allows the front bezel to come off and out of the way. Worth a mention here, are the slides for the optical drives, hidden behind the covers in the bezel. Then there is the large intake filter placed on the front of the body. I assume the filter will work well over time, but it is a tight fit and I had issues getting my filter out. Sitting on the floor in the middle is the floppy drive rack with removable covers to secure those in the chassis.

content/3/3/3338_27.jpg

I mounted the slides for the DVD drive as far forward as physically possible. Even so, you can see it leaves the drive protruding just a bit. Not a huge deal, because you can just close the door, but something I would prefer not to see at all.

content/3/3/3338_28.jpg

Just about ready to show the guts, but I wanted a full shot to show you with the door open. Personally, with a left hand door for access, I would have loved it if the door on the front opened the other direction.

content/3/3/3338_29.jpg

Things are tight in this mid tower if you want to use a full ATX motherboard. As you can see, I was able to install the large board and with a bit of fiddling, I was able to get the 9800 GTX+ in there, too. Notice the wires behind the bays, this is where you will have to run your extra wires if you have to hide them. With everything in place, the wiring is tidy and should allow for the best effects of the 120mm fan in the back.

content/3/3/3338_30.jpg

One last look at the back with everything installed, before I power her up and do a bit of testing.

content/3/3/3338_31.jpg

Powered up in all her glory! Aside from the case badge, you do get two tiny blue LEDs to show both the Power status and the hard drive activity light, which here isn't active. Sleek, simple and secure!

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags