Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,426 Reviews & Articles | 64,568 News Posts

Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced Mid Tower Case (Page 5)

By Chad Sebring from May 14, 2010 @ 11:16 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Inside the Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced Mid Tower Case

content/3/2/3281_14.jpg

Taking the panel off, we are greeted with a hardware box strapped to the HDD rack, a bundle of wires or three, and a bunch of black.

content/3/2/3281_15.jpg

All the drives can be used tool-less. Cooler Master does offer screws for a more secure fit, too, but honestly, they aren't needed. The four 5.25" bays work with a simple switch, flip it like a light switch in either the open or lock positions. The six bay 3.5" drive rack uses locking "sleds" to hold the hard drives in place; again, no screws needed.

content/3/2/3281_16.jpg

The motherboard area is labeled for easy installation of the risers for each type of board. There is a large cut out for CPU cooler back plate access and six well placed holes for wiring. At various places Cooler Master has punched out tabs; these will come into play later when we actually wire the back side.

content/3/2/3281_17.jpg

Inside we see that the eight expansion slot coves are held in with thumbscrews and are not vented. I would have loved to have seen a tool-less mechanism here, but hey, we can't have everything for a hundred dollars, can we?

content/3/2/3281_18.jpg

Wiring from the front I/O is plenty long enough to get them where they need to go. The rainbow of colors makes the cables easy to trace, but in an all black chassis they tend to really stick out.

content/3/2/3281_19.jpg

With the left door panel off it leaves a gap of about an inch to hide wiring behind the tray, there should be no issues fitting a 24-pin cable through here. The front I/O wiring comes all tied up, but you may need to undo it as I will to make thing go smoothly.

content/3/2/3281_21.jpg

To remove the hard drive assembly or to install any fans, you need to first remove the plastic screen. I simply got a fingernail under a corner and started to persuade it off.

content/3/2/3281_22.jpg

After removal of four screws underneath and three in the back, the rails on each side slide forward and can be taken out. This leaves enough room for two 3.5" sleds and offers room for a radiator or two fans by themselves.

content/3/2/3281_23.jpg

With the I/O up top, the front bezel comes free with no wiring attached. Simply tug it at the bottom and the tabs will release. I did find on the inside of the front bezel that the steel mesh is backed with another layer of screen; this can be removed and rinsed off for easy clean up.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags