TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,492 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

MyDigitalSSD Pocket Vault External SSD Review

MyDigitalSSD Pocket Vault External SSD Review
Big storage in a small package. We take a look at the Pocket Vault from MyDigitalSSD to see what it can do.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Jan 24, 2014 2:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: MyDigitalSSD

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_99_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.png

 

As of late, external SSDs have really come on strong as a way for us to transport our data with the utmost of performance. Like many other high performance storage solutions, external SSDs have begun to shrink in size.

 

MyDigitalSSD is a leader in this market, offering high performance flash storage solutions, without the price tag or mark-up of bigger brand names. Their latest line of products includes the one we are looking at today: the Pocket Vault. The Pocket Vault is available in capacities ranging from 64GB to 1TB; featuring read speeds of 240 MB/s, with write speeds at 170 MB/s. Compatibility of the drive extends from latest Windows operating systems to Mac OS X, and Linux. Warranty of the drive is listed at one year.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_02_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

We find the USB 3.0 cable included in the packaging with the Pocket Vault.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_03_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Internally, the Pocket Vault utilizes the Phison PS2251 controller, with four Toshiba MLC NAND packages.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_04_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Above, we can compare the size of the Pocket Vault to other external solutions on the market. As you can see, the drive carries a small footprint in comparison to the typical external drive; it fits right in your pocket.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_10_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.png

 

In our read testing, the Pocket Vault was able to exceed marketing specifications by a fair bit. Here, we have the drive topping out at 310 MB/s.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_11_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.png

 

Write performance of the drive came right in line with marketing specifications. Here, the drive topped out around 165 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_12_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.png

 

In our price to performance charts, the Pocket Vault came second in our charts against other external SSDs.

 

Coming in at just over the size of a standard USB flash drive, the Pocket Vault offers additional durability through the use of its aluminum exterior. In my time with the drive, I really felt the Pocket Vault was put together quite well; in fact, while doing my normal image routine, it took me a few minutes to remove the cover for internal images.

 

Performance of the drive was ample, and met marketing specifications on both fronts, with read performance exceeding. Price to performance of the drive, as seen in our charts, was second only to the ADATA SE720 120GB drive. However, it offers 256GB capacity, far under the price of traditional USB 3.0 flash drives of equal capacity.

 

At the time of writing, pricing of the Pocket Vault ranges from $59.99 for the 64GB model, to $169.99 for the 256GB capacity tested here today. You can also go big, and grab yourself the 1TB Pocket Vault for $649.99. All of these are available at mydigitaldiscount.com, and feature a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image 6/0/6024_1234_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/0/6024_100_mydigitalssd_pocket_vault_external_ssd_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases