TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,678 Reviews & Articles | 36,088 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Strontium Nitro 64GB SDXC Memory Card Review

Strontium Nitro 64GB SDXC Memory Card Review

The Strontium Nitro offers top capacity in the SDXC form factor. Read on to see if this memory card carries top performance as well.

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Dec 31, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Strontium

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_99_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

After having the chance to look at our first products from Strontium with the Nitro microSDXC, we could not wait to get our hands on the next. Therefore, rather quickly, we had a 64GB SDXC sent over for today's review.

 

The Strontium Nitro SDXC is catered the DSLR and HD camera market, filling the niche where users want top-notch performance with top tier capacity together in one product. This card falls into two classes those being Class 10 and UHS I. Marketing specifications have this card capable of 85 MB/s read with write speeds following Class 10 and UHS I specifications. A lifetime warranty is included with this product.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_02_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking over the card, we have the Strontium logo displayed up top, with capacity and speed class listed below.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_03_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking at the backside of the card, we find the standard SD card pin out.

 

To test the capabilities of media cards, we utilize both CrystalDiskMark and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the SanDisk ImageMate SDDR 289.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_10_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Our first look over the card shows its storage capacity of 59.8GB formatted in the exFAT file system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_11_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Looking over our first testing with CDM, we find the card quite capable with read speeds touching 95 MB/s with writes close behind at 61 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_12_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In our first chart, the Strontium Nitro did quite well with peak performance coming with RAW files. Overall, the drive was able to take the third spot in our charts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_13_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In our price/performance charts, the Strontium Nitro came in right behind the Transcend Ultimate, and ahead of the SanDisk Extreme.

 

If you are in the market for a high capacity, high performance storage solution for your HD camcorder or DSL camera, the Strontium Nitro may just be what you have been looking for. Within this SD card, we have performance touching 62 MB/s write, which far exceeds the UHS I spec, and in fact exceeds the newly announced UHS I Class 3 specs as well. Read performance too was exceptional and in fact, if we could squeeze a few more MB/s out of this card, it would be the fastest we have tested this year.

 

Pricing of the Strontium 64GB SDXC at the time of writing is set at $72.99 with a lifetime warranty, and going back to our price/performance chart, if this card were a few dollars cheaper, it would gain top honours as the best bang for your buck.

 

TweakTown image 5/9/5973_1234_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/9/5973_100_strontium_nitro_64gb_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below