TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,091 Reviews & Articles | 39,114 News Posts

BeQuiet Shadow Rock 2 CPU Cooler Review - BeQuiet Shadow Rock 2 CPU Cooler

BeQuiet Shadow Rock 2 CPU Cooler Review
BeQuiet delivers us its newest cooler for testing. Come have a look at what the new Shadow Rock 2 offers.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 12, 2013 1:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 79%Manufacturer: BeQuiet

BeQuiet Shadow Rock 2 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_07_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Staring the Shadow Rock 2 right in the fan, it is easy to see that this Silent Wings fan is a great choice, since it covers the entire cooler, and while currently sitting a bit low, it should offer a fair chance of the fins behind it to get efficiently ridded of their heat.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_08_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the side of the Shadow Rock 2, you can see that BeQuiet has set up the cooler to have the fans blow through the pipes, not along them. While you can easily place the fan on any side of this 51 fin stack, but from my testing, I found it doesn't matter thermally which side the fan is on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_09_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This side of the cooler is just like all the others, but without the fan in the way this time, it doesn't block the view of the heat pipes as they start out very close, are gently bent, and are then evenly spaced in the fin array.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_12_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Two things I want to cover about the Shadow Rock 2 outside of the fins and their design is the base top that has a passive array of fins incorporated into it, and you should take notice of how the fans clip into the grooves where the fins are still flat, each side has this exact section to apply them to.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_13_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As the cooler is assembled from the factory, if I were to install it in the typical fashion for any motherboard, you can see the name won't read correctly inside of the chassis, but this can easily be changed. I do, however, like the clean look of the aluminum top plate and pipe caps used in this design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_14_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I wanted to get this image, not so much for the base of the cooler, but to finally give you a better look at the fin shapes and the saw toothed pattern found on all four sides. The wave shape allows the fan some room to build up speed, and the jagged edges help to create turbulence. Things we know will help the lower CFM fans carry their weight.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_15_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As for the connection between the copper heat pipes and the aluminum fins, the Shadow Rock 2 has the fins press fit over the pipes. I also like the full circle of fins around the pipes where others leave holes or gaps, here things are in very close tolerances to take full effect of the heat transfer out of the pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_16_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As the pipes leave the Nickel plated base, it is easy to see remains of the soldering process used to mount the pipes into the base plate assembly. Again this is currently the best method to use, and with all things considered, it seems that this cooler should have no issues ridding itself of heat from the CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_17_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Using the supplied tube of paste, it is set on the base plate to show off the finish that is left. As you can see, there is a mirror polish applied before it gets plated, and this surface is flat and level, all the way to the corners.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases