TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,923 Reviews & Articles | 38,167 News Posts

LUXA2 P2 5000mAh Aluminum Portable Battery Review

LUXA2 P2 5000mAh Aluminum Portable Battery Review

LUXA2's stylish P2 5000mAh Aluminum Portable Battery goes under the review microscope. Is it the most stylish mobile battery yet? Let's take a look.

| Portable Chargers in Mobile Devices | Posted: Oct 7, 2013 5:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: LUXA2

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_06_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.jpg

 

My reviews of LUXA2 products began with the Groovy Wireless Stereo Speaker, which I loved. It was a stylish unit, and something that requires charging from a microUSB port on the top of the speaker itself. This is where the LUXA2 P2 mobile battery comes into play.

 

LUXA2 is pricing its P2 portable battery with an MSRP of $64.95, which is definitely not too bad for something with both style and substance. It's the perfect accessory for LUXA2's Groovy speaker, but it is a damn fine portable battery by itself, too. Let's start with the unboxing and specs of the P2 portable battery.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_03_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_01_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.png

 

You can see from the specs, and the product name itself, that the LUXA2 P2 portable battery has 5000mAh of charge inside. This is enough to charge most smartphones twice over, or most big tablets at least once. The one downside with the P2 charger is that the output for charging is only rated at 5V1A compared to other portable chargers that are rated at 2.5A, such as the Patriot FUEL+ range of chargers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_02_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.png

 

This isn't a bad thing, but it does mean that your smart devices will charge slower. LUXA2 has opted to go down another route, making the packaging and P2 charger itself from greener materials.

 

The P2 charger is quite sleek, with the all-aluminum body. Toward the end of the device we have the power button and LED which tells you how much charge is left. The LUXA2 will flash blue when charging, and once it's complete, it will flash green. It's not a super bright LED, but it's bright enough to not be a massive distraction on your desk. The aluminum stays cool, and is nice to the touch - something LUXA2 seem to be gunning for with this P2 portable battery.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_05_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.jpg

 

Let's move onto the real-world usage of the P2 charger itself. I used the LUXA2 P2 charger like I do with all of my mobile batteries, so I take it around with me depending on what I'm doing that day. I took the LUXA2 P2 on an adventure, using it on the road with LUXA2's Groovy Wireless Speaker, and both of them worked great.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_07_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_08_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.jpg

 

I was able to charge up the Groovy speaker to full charge, as well as my Nexus 4 smartphone from a single charge. The 5000mAh battery inside is enough to charge nearly all smartphones twice over, so if you're in the market for something that can charge your smartphone up, but leave enough juice to do it again later in the day, or maybe the next day or two, this is it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5784_09_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.jpg

 

It's thin, so I was able to have it slide into my pocket, alongside my Nexus 4, which really helps when walking around. This way, my smartphone is constantly charging, but I'm not feeling this huge bulk coming from my pants (yeah, take that as you will).

 

Overall, I love the LUXA2 P2. It's sleek, thin and features 5000mAh of charge - which is enough for anyone these days. You'd have to be really going through some charge to need anymore, so if you're in the market for a sleek looking portable battery, you can't go past the LUXA P2.

 

TweakTown image 5/7/5784_1234_luxa2_p2_5000mah_aluminum_portable_battery_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases