TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,210 Reviews & Articles | 40,191 News Posts

SilverStone Tundra TD02 AIO CPU Cooler Review - SilverStone Tundra TD02 AIO CPU Cooler

SilverStone Tundra TD02 AIO CPU Cooler Review
We just looked at the Tundra TD03, but I know most of you want a 240mm solution. Have a look at SilverStone's Tundra TD02 that offers exactly that.
| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 19, 2013 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: SilverStone

SilverStone Tundra TD02 AIO CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_09_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The top of the head unit for the TD02 shares the same brushed aluminum plate that gets screwed into place with the snowflake logo just like the TD03 had. As I said then, this is much better to see than looking at shiny black plastic.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_10_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The sides of this polished aluminum head unit has grooves cut into it to allow for the extruded aluminum hardware to me screwed into it. These units come shipped with Intel hardware, sorry AMD fans, you have to do a bit of work first.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_11_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the TD02 I went ahead and removed the screws so you have a better idea of how easy this really is. Just remove the screws, pull out the Intel bits, add in the AMD ones and align the holes, and screw it into place. It doesn't get any easier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_12_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here the black fittings for the inlet and outlet of the coolant mixture, and as you can tell they do swivel all the way around until the tubing runs into the other fitting. This should give plenty of flexibility for most installations.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_13_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The 3-pin fan header comes out of the cap on these units, but I also took this shot so that you can fully appreciate the aesthetics of this on your CPU over some shiny black head unit with a white painted logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_14_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There are two things I want to address with the copper cold plate in this head unit, and something you will get nowhere else. The plastic sticker you need to remove is my first point, but the lack of any screws around the edges is something no one else has yet to deliver to an AIO.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_15_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Removing the plastic protective film allows a much better look at the surface. There is an arced milling across the entire plane of copper. This doesn't mean the surface deviates, as it does not change or allow light under the razor blade when set against this in various directions.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_16_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

SilverStone uses the measurement of 310mm of tubing length, but my tape measure only has inches on it, and it is easy to see that there is just more than 12 inches of tubing, and if the fan connection for the head unit wasn't curved, it would also reach the one foot mark.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_17_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This radiator is 124mm from top to bottom and 278mm side to side the way I have it in this image. Both ends have white plastic caps applied to it, and this version offers 240mm by 120mm worth of cooling area.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_18_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the much longer radiator, the gunmetal or charcoal grey used on the side skirting has been adapted to work on the TD02 as well. Yes those are screws, and yes if you wanted, you could remove this, but why on earth you would want to; that is way beyond me.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_19_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Judging simply by the fact of comparing the numbers found on the stickers of either AIO, this is either a serial number of the product line, or it is some sort of a date code.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5680_20_silverstone_tundra_td02_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Before we dive into the hardware and move along with the review, I thought maybe you would like to see the TD02 all-in-one image.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases