TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,760 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB SSD Review - Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB SSD

Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB SSD Review
Kingston brings SF-2281 to the mainstream with 19nm Toggle NAND and new 5.0.5 firmware. We look at this new mainstream role for LSI SandForce SATA 6G controllers and how it changes the market from now till NGFF.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Mar 14, 2013 3:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Kingston

Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_04_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

It looks like the 450MB/s rating isn't an error on the spec sheet, but we'll let our own benchmarks rate the drive. Kingston put together a nice, informative package for SSDNow V300.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_05_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All of the kit components are listed on the back of the box, which makes for a pleasant retail shopping experience. You are not leaving anything to chance and you know right away what's included.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_06_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside we found a tightly packed container that stages the hardware well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_07_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Our Notebook Upgrade Kit shipped with two disks, a paper manual, a USB enclosure with USB cable and something we don't see too often, a 7mm to 9.5mm spacer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_08_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive. It isn't as flash as the HyperX line, but very few of us actually put our SSDs on display. The product number, serial number and capacity are listed on the front label.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_09_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

That doesn't leave much on the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_10_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm z-height works with many ultrabooks, all notebooks and desktops with a desktop adapter bracket (included with the Desktop Upgrade Kit).

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5254_11_kingston_ssdnow_v300_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are offset, as they should be so you won't have any issues installing this drive in your computer.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases