TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,061 Reviews & Articles | 38,961 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Xigmatek Dark Knight SD1283 Night Hawk Edition CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Xigmatek brings new life into an old cooler design with the introduction of the Dark Knight Night Hawk Edition.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 25, 2012 4:37 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Xigmatek

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_21_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

To get the motherboard ready you need the correct side support rails, in this case for Intel and mount the thumbscrews with threads on both ends through a washer and them into the backplate. To keep the support bars in place you need to use the thin thumbscrews for securing these.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_22_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The backplate is a plastic composite material and is not conductive, so no plastic stickers or foam layers are needed here. As I mentioned, you need to tilt the backplate depending on the socket, but allowances are made for the socket screws so that this can sit on an angle.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_23_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The recommended application style of TIM has been applied down the center of each of the three H.D.T. pipes. This way you get an even layer across the pipes and won't lose much needed TIM in the larger gaps instead of spreading correctly if you were to apply a dollop to the IHS.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_24_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

At this point you set the cooler on the CPU and lay the mounting bar across the base. Allow the screws from the side supports to go inside of the sleeve in the cross bar and then tighten down the large nuts with the provided wrench.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_25_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at the DK Night Hawk Edition from the top shows that this cooler is slim and doesn't take up much room, nor does it encroach too much on the memory or the PCI-e slot.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_26_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Even from this angle, without getting as close as I am about to in the next image or two, you can already tell there is no issues with running dual channel on a motherboard, even if you have taller heat spreaders on them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_27_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

If you own naked sticks like I do, then you will have no issues populating all four slots as the cooler sits a few millimeters taller than the PCBs do.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_28_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From this angle you can see that the Dark Knight just encroaches on the closest memory slot. Again I had no issues populating the slot with my sticks, but even something like Ripjaw heat spreaders will rub on the front of the fan.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4730_29_xigmatek_dark_knight_sd1283_night_hawk_edition_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I thought you might want to see what the Dark Knight Night Hawk edition cooler looked like while operating. Here it is with the fan powered at 12V and the white LEDs glowing with full intensity.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases