TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Wicked Lasers Spyder III Krypton 1 Watt Green Laser Review - Wicked Laser Spyder III Krypton 1000mW Laser

It is a big laser, that is green... oh, and you can see it from space!

| Accessories in Peripherals | Posted: Mar 1, 2012 12:21 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Wicked Lasers

Wicked Laser Spyder III Krypton 1000mW Laser

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4586_09_wicked_lasers_spyder_iii_krypton_1_watt_green_laser_review.jpg

 

Here we take our first look at the Arctic Spyder III's together. The Arctic is in the foreground and the new Krypton is in the back. The Krypton is a little longer, but still retains the amazing build quality we found on the Arctic.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4586_10_wicked_lasers_spyder_iii_krypton_1_watt_green_laser_review.jpg

 

Without the two end pieces we can take a closer look at the build quality of the unit. This is an aluminum case with several ridges that allow you to hold the laser easily.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4586_11_wicked_lasers_spyder_iii_krypton_1_watt_green_laser_review.jpg

 

Inside we see the inner lens that protects the internals of the laser.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4586_12_wicked_lasers_spyder_iii_krypton_1_watt_green_laser_review.jpg

 

You will want to keep a cap on the end so you don't damage the inner lens.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4586_13_wicked_lasers_spyder_iii_krypton_1_watt_green_laser_review.jpg

 

The battery cover on the back of the Krypton has a safety key. Without this piece being inserted, the laser will not power on. Taking this pin out is difficult by hand so you won't lose it on accident, but you will need to wedge something under it to remove the pin.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4586_14_wicked_lasers_spyder_iii_krypton_1_watt_green_laser_review.jpg

 

The new improved Smartswitch 2.0 lights up when the master switch is turned on in the bottom battery cap.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4586_15_wicked_lasers_spyder_iii_krypton_1_watt_green_laser_review.jpg

 

The three led lights tell you where you are in the startup sequence. You have to press the button in the previous image in a pattern to activate the laser. This is a very important safety mechanism, if you don't know the sequence, then you cannot turn the laser on.

 

Last year some family drove in for the Indy 500 and my 14 year old cousin brought a friend with him. He saw the Spyder III Arctic and knew exactly what it was. The first thing he tried to do was turn it on in my office where four other people were standing without protective eye wear. If he knew the power on sequence then five people would have spent the next half hour seeing a blue dot. We really like the safety feature for this reason.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases