TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,055 Reviews & Articles | 38,941 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

Swiftech H20-X20 Edge HD Water Cooling Kits Review - MCR220 Drive, MCP35X, and RDM1225S Fans

We looked at the original H20-320 Edge kit, but Swiftech took the radiator to Rev3 and introduced "HD" CPU blocks. Check out what these kits can do now.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 5, 2012 1:43 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Swiftech

MCR220 Drive, MCP35X, and RDM1225S Fans

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4505_27_swiftech_h20_x20_edge_hd_water_cooling_kits_review.jpg

 

The box I showed you long ago that I said had the radiator, pump, reservoir, and fans, well I finally got around to opening it and find that the kit is shipped inside of a cloth bag to keep minor scratches at bay, and to help contain the wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4505_28_swiftech_h20_x20_edge_hd_water_cooling_kits_review.jpg

 

With everything unpacked you get the 220 radiator with the reservoir at the left and pump at the right ends. The fans and grills come pre-installed, and you also find a bag with the fittings and clamps for this end of the installation.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4505_29_swiftech_h20_x20_edge_hd_water_cooling_kits_review.jpg

 

To power the system, the pump uses a combination of a 4-pin Molex connection to power the pump, and a four pin fan connection with only RPM and Sense wires for control via the motherboard. The fans use 3-pin connections and are controllable with a controller with the 7V and 5V adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4505_30_swiftech_h20_x20_edge_hd_water_cooling_kits_review.jpg

 

The reservoir end of the 220 and 320 radiators have a plastic plug in the top fill-port. On the face, or the top as it would hang in the top of a chassis, there is another hole with a metal plug that can be used with the fill-port kit to make filling the loop inside the chassis much easier.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4505_31_swiftech_h20_x20_edge_hd_water_cooling_kits_review.jpg

 

The MCP35X is bolted directly to the bottom of the radiator as if it were a pump. Swiftech also plainly labels the flow of this system, and the outgoing side of the radiator is on the pump. Just something to point out too - the pump has moved sides from the original version, as it's on the right side of my older kit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4505_32_swiftech_h20_x20_edge_hd_water_cooling_kits_review.jpg

 

Since the Apogee HD CPU block has three outlets, it only makes sense that the MCR220 has three inlets with the Rev3 of this radiator. This means that if you run the GPUs and memory loops off the CPU block, they can all have their own returns into the radiator as well, but remember hardware for this is not included.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4505_33_swiftech_h20_x20_edge_hd_water_cooling_kits_review.jpg

 

This was just so that you can actually see the FPI of this radiator and get a sense that it's more in the middle of the spectrum with its 14 FPI count. I will say that the fan choice does lend well to this fin density.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases