TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,665 Reviews & Articles | 36,003 News Posts

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

The first motherboard to go through the Sandy-E gauntlet comes from ASUS and is the Rampage IV Extreme we've been using for our launch coverage.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Nov 14, 2011 8:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 99%      Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

If you can ever be scared of a BIOS, this is going to be one of them. The options here are just ridiculous and really let you know exactly what the board is about. While we've got screenshots of all the main sections, we'll cover just some of the bigger areas. Straight off the bat, though, you can see our "EZ Mode" option.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_22_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

Like all ROG boards, "EZ Mode" is included, but when you go into the BIOS it's not the one you're greeted with. Instead you'll be looking at Advanced mode.

 

"Extreme Tweaker" is where you're going to spend most of your time and the word "Extreme" isn't just being thrown around by ASUS. The options here are just insane. Straight up you've got three preset profiles for overclocking; one is just a "Normal OC Profile" and is designed for day in and day out running. What this pushes our CPU to we'll cover in our overclocking side of things, but if you want to get a bit of extra performance and don't want to be stressing about anything, the chances are this is what you'll want.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_23_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

The "Extreme OC Profiles" are designed for people with higher end cooling options with the "High Current" one being for LN2 overclockers. Loading the profile does stuff like disable a lot of the extras on the board like your NIC cards, USB 3.0 controller and more. Doing so in turn helps you achieve the highest overclock possible.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_24_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_25_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving throughout the rest of the page, you can see we've got settings for our memory and CPU along with all the voltage options you'd expect from a ROG board. At the very bottom, though, we've got even more options which are labeled as "Tweakers Paradise".

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_26_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_27_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_28_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_29_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_50_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

You can see throughout the "Tweakers Paradise" section that overclocking options just go crazy and for the most part a large amount of the user base will be avoiding this area as it's designed for only the most hardcore of users. The overclocking options are just utterly insane on the board and you can see that the mind of a mad overclocker is behind it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_51_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_52_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_53_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_54_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_55_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_56_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4415_57_asus_rampage_iv_extreme_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving away from the "Extreme Tweaker" section of the BIOS and through the rest, there's not a lot that is too out of the ordinary. We've got all the typical options you'd expect to see on any ASUS board. The BIOS is all about the "Extreme Tweaker" section, though, and the customizable options that are on offer with in it. The profiles, though, for easy overclocking are indeed going to be something that people will appreciate, especially if you find yourself overwhelmed in the BIOS.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below