TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,209 Reviews & Articles | 40,187 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Thermaltake Element Q Mini-ITX Chassis w/ 220W Power Supply - The Build and Finished Product

Thermaltake proves once again that nice things do come in small packages.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 13, 2010 2:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_21.jpg

 

I grabbed my ZOTAC Atom/Ion motherboard and installed the m-ITX board into the chassis. All of the front panel wiring is a breeze to install, and I could route it and actually had to tie some of the wires together to shorten them.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_22.jpg

 

I chose to install a 3.5" hard drive in the Q just to show you that you can. Since there is a top on the chassis and you can't see the inside, I didn't care if it hung over my RAM sticks. There is also room enough to use the normal SATA cables as well; no need for 90° ends.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_23.jpg

 

Something else I like about this design is that it allows for a full sized optical drive. This will make installing any optical drive you have handy, or a good reason to buy a Blu-ray drive. I folded the ends of the cables just to make things look neat for the images. There is plenty of room for these as you are about to see.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_24.jpg

 

With the SFX 220W power supply in place you can see there is plenty of room to get things installed and even have a bit of room left to tidy up the wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_25.jpg

 

Looking in from the side with all the components in place, you can see Thermaltake leaves enough room to get air flowing inside the chassis. Even though it is only one fan doing all the work, there is sufficient room for it to draw all the air it needs.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_26.jpg

 

Putting the top and sides back on, the chassis looks much the same as it did when we first saw it. The only thing that has changed from the outside is the optical drive, which does sit flush with the front and leaves a nice look.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_27.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis fills up fast, but there is room for everything I needed. I didn't have a spare TV tuner to install or this system would be getting hooked up in my living room immediately. All we need to do now is add the power cord and get to the testing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_28.jpg

 

When under power the only thing you may need to contend with is the bright glare of the red HDD activity light and the blue power lights. There is a benefit to that brightness; if you just want to glance to see if it is on, it will for sure let you know, as they are easy to see.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases