TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,822 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

Thermaltake Element Q Mini-ITX Chassis w/ 220W Power Supply - Inside The Thermaltake Element Q Mini Case

Thermaltake proves once again that nice things do come in small packages.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 13, 2010 2:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Inside The Thermaltake Element Q Mini Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_12.jpg

 

After removing the cover for the chassis we see the interior is simple in design and layout, but offers all the room you will need to house what is needed for a good HTPC. The instructions get taped to the floor, the hardware is twist tied to the rail in the optical drive bay, and of course the included PSU is already mounted.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_13.jpg

 

I pulled out the Thermaltake 220W power supply so I could show it off a bit and what to expect for connectivity. I do like that this SFX power supply has a plastic hook on the side to allow it to hang on the top rail of the chassis for extra support.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_14.jpg

 

Not that my setup is going to pull anywhere close to the 15A or the 180W rating of the 12V rail, so it will most certainly cover my needs. Even if you want to run a single slot VGA, there is still potential with this supply of power.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_15.jpg

 

And here is the ventilation for the chassis, and of course the power supply fan. This 80mm fan does double duty as cooling for the power supply and the only draw of air in the chassis as it comes shipped.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_16.jpg

 

Connectivity of the power supply consists of the 20+4 pin, a rail with two 4-pin Molex connectors and ends in a floppy power connection. Behind these are the rails with the 4-pin CPU power line and the two SATA power connections.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_17.jpg

 

Back inside the chassis, the front I/O wiring is long enough to reach the back of the Element Q. Getting the Audio, USB, and the switches and LEDs hooked up won't be a problem.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3726_18.jpg

 

Getting ready for assembly, I pulled the front bezel off the Q to let you see what is going on behind the scenes. The front I/O is built into the chassis and stays in place. To get access to remove the drive covers you must be sure the wiring is free before you pull it too far away. I do like the added touch to actually mount the wiring to the bezel so that they don't get in the way when you slide drives into place.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases