TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,136 Reviews & Articles | 39,420 News Posts

ECS X79R-AX (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

It's been a while since we've seen anything from ECS, but let's check out what they're doing with the new X79 chipset via the X79R-AX.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Dec 26, 2011 12:00 pm
Manufacturer: ECS

BIOS

 

ArghhhhÂ…no screenshot button. It feels like a while since we've had to take pictures of the BIOS screen, but the ECS BIOS still lacks the ability to take a screenshot and save it to a USB drive. Along with that, we can't flash the BIOS within the BIOS. I might be a little more annoyed with that if the Windows flash wasn't so easy, but it is. Still, it would be nice to see the ability to update the BIOS with in the BIOS like most other companies.

 

Moving through the BIOS is pretty simple and all the standard options are there. It goes along smooth enough and everything you'd hope was there is ultimately present.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_20_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_21_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_22_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If you want to do any overclocking you'll want to head on over to the M.I.B. X section of the BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_23_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_24_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_25_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_26_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving through it, you've got all the usual options you expect to see with voltages, memory, CPU and profiles. The options are actually pretty good; fingers crossed that we're able to get a decent overclock out of the board.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_27_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_28_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_29_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4494_50_ecs_x79r_ax_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving through the rest, we've got a few more standard options while we've also got an EZ Mode area. You can't do a whole lot here, though, which is probably why it's called EZ Mode.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases