GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review

GIGABYTE's Aorus 15-XA is an affordable yet fantastic gaming experience, its 15.6" SHARP display at 240hz is something to truly consider.

@StevenBassiriTT
Published Tue, May 14 2019 8:40 PM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Jul 30 2020 4:20 PM CDT
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Introduction, Specifications, and Pricing

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 49 IMAGES

While we have taken a close look at many new notebooks with Intel's 9th generation 8000 series mobile processors, including those with i9 CPUs, today we take a look at an Aorus branded gaming notebook with a 9th generation 9000 series mobile CPU and an RTX 2070. The notebook in for review today is a bit special because of its 240Hz display, and while it's just 1080P, it should provide a very good gaming experience. Let's see what it has to offer.

Specifications

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 02 | TweakTown.com

As we know, the notebook uses a 9th generation i7-9750H, which has a Turbo up to 4.5GHz. It also features an RTX 2070 paired with a SHARP 15.6" thin bezel FHS 240Hz anti-glare IGZO LCD. Our model came with 16GB of DRAM, a 512GB Intel 760P SSD, and a 2TB HDD. For LAN the notebook offers the latest in wireless AC technology from Killer as well as a Killer LAN chip so that you can utilize Doubleshot Pro. The battery is a 62Wh, and the notebook weighs 5.29lbs. It measures in a 14.21"x9.68"x0.96" (WxDxH).

Pricing

The Aorus 15-XA in our configuration chimes in at $2,199

Buy at Amazon

AORUS 15-XA-F74CDW 15" Thin Bezel Sharp 240Hz

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$2646.79$2646.79$2646.79
* Prices last scanned on 9/24/2020 at 11:25 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Physical Overview

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 03 | TweakTown.comGIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 04 | TweakTown.com

GIGABYTE's box for the Aorus 15 is pretty similar in design to GIGABYTE's Aorus branded component products. The packaging is solid enough to keep everything safe.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 05 | TweakTown.comGIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 06 | TweakTown.com

Accessories include AC/DC power adapter, AC power cord, extra m.2 screws, and manuals. The AC/DC adapter is rated at 11.8a at 19.5v, so 230W.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 07 | TweakTown.comGIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 08 | TweakTown.com

The top of the notebook is made of a plastic composite, as is the whole body of the notebook. While the AERO 15 we reviewed earlier had an aluminum body, it also costs $1800 more than this notebook, so GIGABYTE is cutting out the frills. The Aorus logo and the two lines light up on the top of the notebook when it is operational. The bottom of the notebook is 50% vents, allowing the new cooling system to breathe. We also find multiple rubber feet of varying sizes that keep the notebook from moving during use.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 09 | TweakTown.com

The front of the unit features two slits at both corners that emit a green light then the notebook is operating, it is a neat effect. The rear of the notebook features the DC power jack, HDMI 2.0 port, Mini-DP 1.3 port, a Kensington lock slot, and a 10Gbps USB type-C port. The left of the unit features a Gbit LAN port, a USB 3.0 port, a microSD card slot, and some status LEDs. The right side of the notebook features two USB 3.0 ports, and a combo headphone jack.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 10 | TweakTown.com

The QWERTY keyboard is backlit with RGB LEDs behind each key, and they are lit in zones and can be customized in GIGABYTE's software. There is also a compact number pad. We found the keys to be welcoming, GIGABYTE's Beach-Style keyboard looks pretty neat as well since the edges of the keys are white. The power button is located between the vents at the top of the notebook.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 11 | TweakTown.com

The bezel on the 15.6" is thin enough and we are happy to see that GIGABYTE did not move to the camera to the bottom of the screen to reduce the bezel size.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 12 | TweakTown.com

The touchpad is decent and accepts input pretty easily.

Physical Overview Continued

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 13 | TweakTown.com

We get a 720P camera along with an array microphone.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 14 | TweakTown.com

Here we can see all the RGB LEDs turned on, and you can see the green that is emitted from the bottom edges of the notebook.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 15 | TweakTown.com

When we open the notebook up, we can see a mask over all the sensitive areas of the notebook's interior.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 16 | TweakTown.com

Here we can see the mask removed, and we find all of the hardware and we can see the six heat pipes, and the new 12v fans with 50% more blades. They are quite powerful.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 17 | TweakTown.com

Right above the battery, we find out Samsung 16GB DRAM modules and our 512GB Intel 760p SSD.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 18 | TweakTown.com

Here we find our 2TB HDD and our Killer 1550i WIFI card, which is basically the CNVI version of the 1550.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 19 | TweakTown.com

Some of the battery is hidden under a shroud, and it's not the biggest battery, but a smaller battery helps with weight.

Software and BIOS

Software

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 20 | TweakTown.com

The AORUS Control Center is where you can control and monitor the hardware of the notebook.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 21 | TweakTown.com

GIGABYTE's Manager allows you to control things like Do Not Disturb and Killer Optimizer.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Aorus RGB Fusion allows you to control the lighting zones on the notebook's keyboard and the corners.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 23 | TweakTown.com

You can also control the detailed versions of the drivers installed and update them.

BIOS

The BIOS is pretty basic, you cannot overclock this CPU, so there are no real performance settings. However, you can disable devices.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 24 | TweakTown.comGIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 25 | TweakTown.com
GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 26 | TweakTown.comGIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 27 | TweakTown.com
GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 28 | TweakTown.comGIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 29 | TweakTown.com

System Performance Benchmarks

CPU, Memory, and System Benchmarks

These benchmarks are run using default settings and configuration.

CINEBENCH 11.5

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 32 | TweakTown.com

wPrime

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 33 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 AES and HASH

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 34 | TweakTown.com

AIDA64 Memory

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 35 | TweakTown.com

PCMark8 Home

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 36 | TweakTown.com

Handbrake 4K and 720P Transcoding

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 37 | TweakTown.com

WebXPRT 2015

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 38 | TweakTown.com

Here we see that the i7-9750H and the i9-8950HK are going head to head, and while the Aero 15 is thinner and has a slightly faster CPU, it also has a bit more restricted cooling because of the notebook's thickness. These benchmarks are mostly synthetic and not real-world, so in many cases, the i9 can beat out the i7, but in some of these benchmarks, we see the opposite.

Gaming Performance Benchmarks

UNIGINE Heaven 4.0

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 40 | TweakTown.com

ResidentEvil 6

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 41 | TweakTown.com

3DMark FireStrike

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 42 | TweakTown.com

3DMark Cloudgate

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 43 | TweakTown.com

Ashes of Singularity

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 44 | TweakTown.com

GTA:V

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 45 | TweakTown.com

The Aorus 15 XA is doing quite well, even when compared to the thinner and most equipped Aero 15. However, in the end, the gaming performance of both notebooks is very similar, which is great news for the more affordable Aorus 15 XA.

System IO and Battery Performance

System IO Benchmarks

Internal Storage Read Test:

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 46 | TweakTown.com

Internal Storage Write Test:

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 47 | TweakTown.com

ixChariot Network Throughput:

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 48 | TweakTown.com

Storage performance is excellent as is the networking performance of the notebook.

Battery Tests

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 49 | TweakTown.com

The battery performance is not great at all, but that's a tradeoff between the price of the notebook and it's weight.

Thermal Performance

Thermal Imaging

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 50 | TweakTown.com

Here we can see that the notebook stays relatively cool at idle.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 51 | TweakTown.com

Things change as we stress the notebook, and as we stress it the temperature on the rear of the notebook goes very high. However, the fans are very loud as well, and while this thermal solution offers a bit of extra headroom, it is very aggressive, and tends to get the job done.

What's Hot, What's Not & Final Thoughts

What's Hot

RTX Graphics and 240Hz: Some people might think that an RTX 2070 might be overkill for a notebook with a 1080P display, but in this case with the 240Hz refresh rate, it's a very solid match. The i7-9750H is also a solid CPU, and while it might not be as fast as the i9-8950HK, it still holds its own.

Azure AI: While this technology is still evolving, we have done some independent research into it and it does seem to optimize performance per each individual task you are doing.

More Affordable: Some of the gaming notebooks we take a look at cost well over $3K, and many of those come with RTX 2070s much like the one in this Aorus 15-XA. At only $2199, we find the combination of CPU, GPU, display, and storage to be reasonable.

What's Not

Loud: While the cooling configuration of this notebook is quite impressive, the fans are very powerful and when they spin up they are obvious.

Battery life: Such a high powered notebook is going to use a ton of power, and the battery on this notebook isn't the largest, which helps with weight but not with battery life.

Final Thoughts

The GIGABYTE AORUS 15-XA is a workhorse gaming notebook, and we are currently writing this review on it. We can tell you that the keyboard is easy to work with, the tactile response and general look of the keys are decent, and it feels solid.

GIGABYTE Aorus 15-XA (Coffee Lake-R) Laptop Review 52 | TweakTown.com

We can tell you that while the battery life is not that great and the notebook is a bit chunkier than other models, which are almost $2000 more expensive, we would easily settle for similar hardware to those more expensive models and give up on long lasting battery life and size to save a few thousand dollars. That is where the Aorus 15-XA really shines in regards to some other notebooks, it is actually affordable for many people who can't spend over $2500 on a gaming notebook but want a solid experience.

We have to admit we are a fan of the 240Hz display as well. If you are in the market for a very fast, heavily loaded gaming notebook with top of the line hardware at a fairly reasonable price, give the Aorus 15-XA a look.

Performance

96%

Quality

95%

Features

92%

Value

90%

Overall

93%

The Bottom Line

When you toss a 15.6" SHARP 240Hz display together with a 9th generation hexa-core CPU and an RTX 2070 the gaming experience is pretty great, but in this case it's also affordable.

TweakTown award
93%

AORUS 15-XA-F74CDW 15" Thin Bezel Sharp 240Hz

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$2646.79$2646.79$2646.79
* Prices last scanned on 9/24/2020 at 11:25 am CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Steven went from a fledgling forum reader in 2003 to one of the internet's brightest tech stars by 2010. Armed with an information systems degree, a deep understanding of circuitry, and a passion for tech, Steven (handle Sin0822) enjoys sharing his deep knowledge with others. Steven details products down to the component level to highlight seldom explained, and often misunderstood architectures. Steven is also a highly decorated overclocker with several world records.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles