Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,422 Reviews & Articles | 64,486 News Posts

Antec Notebook Cooler 200 (Page 4)

By Chad Sebring from Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:27 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Antec

The Antec Notebook Cooler 200

content/3/5/3523_08.jpg

The open construction on the top allows for not only a very attractive cooler, but offers room for both the huge fan in the center, as well as the mirrored corner pieces; it's a shame all this gets covered up!

content/3/5/3523_09.jpg

Standing the 200 on edge, you get a better idea of the mirrored corners. These help to bounce a bit of the blue LED lighting under the notebook, while definitely bringing flash and style.

content/3/5/3523_10.jpg

Looking at it from the front, the closest edge has the feet of your notebook placed an inch and five-eighths off the table. There is a gentle incline as you pass over the fan to the back, and the feet here sit two and five-eighths inches off the surface. This raises the screen over 2" off the table top, reducing the slouch that comes with laptop use.

content/3/5/3523_11.jpg

Both sides are held onto the middle section with really beefy hex head screws. I set this on my desk and really leaned into it, and I will say to be able to take what my 200 pound self could deliver with no flex or deviation, I will tell you it is structurally very sound. Each side has two feet; one in the front and one in the rear of the cooler. Antec arched the center of the sides which makes for a great place to grab the cooler and notebook to another location.

content/3/5/3523_12.jpg

The back of the 200 is very open in design. This allows for an excellent inflow of ambient air to be able to be pulled into the 200mm fan.

content/3/5/3523_13.jpg

Right in the middle of the back of the 200 is where you will find the High and Low switch for the fan on the left, and the Off and On switch for the LED lighting on the right. Just below is where the USB wiring stems and is held into the plastic with a sturdy rubber connection to the plastic body.

content/3/5/3523_14.jpg

Underneath the unit, the fan has a covering of the honeycomb, steel mesh to keep your fingers safe if you were to move the cooler while it is running. There is about 13-14" of USB cable for easy connectivity to any port on any side of the cooler.

content/3/5/3523_15.jpg

Curiosity got to me, so I removed the mesh and plastic covers off the bottom with the four screws around the edge of the fan. This nine blade, almost translucent in color, 200mm fan should be plenty capable of showing benefits in cooling. I also like the fact that it only takes four screws to open the fan up for cleaning later.

content/3/5/3523_16.jpg

With my 15" Lenovo on top, it makes my laptop look even smaller; just goes to show you how well a 17" laptop will fit on the 200 as well. With the lights on in the room, the blue LED lighting is hard to see. With the lights off, the clear parts and the mirrored finish show the lighting. There isn't too much that is visible on the table either.

content/3/5/3523_17.jpg

With no defined routing for the cable under the 200, it is up to you to devise a way to keep the wire from getting under the fan and making the unit unlevel. I found with a quick tuck through a couple of holes in the structure I was able to keep the cable out from under the fan.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags