Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,458 Reviews & Articles | 65,042 News Posts

Creative Zen X-Fi Style 8GB MP3 and Video Player (Page 3)

By James Vozar from Jul 1, 2010 @ 9:19 CDT
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Creative

Technical Overview

content/3/3/3376_22.jpg

Speaking technically, let's start by looking at some specifications.

Capacity: 8GB / 16GB / 32GB

Size: 83.6mm x 48.7mm x 11.7mm

Weight: 56g

LCD: 2.4" 262k Color TFT LCD, 320 x 240 pixels

Songs: 8GB

Up to 4,000 WMAs/ 266hrs (Approx. 4mins per song at 64kbps WMA)

Up to 2,000 MP3/ 133hrs (Approx. 4mins per song at 128kbps MP3)

X-Fi™ Audio Enhancement: Crystallizer / Expand effects

Video / Audio Out: PAL / NTSC (via A/V cable sold separately)

RSS: Displays RSS content feeds offline (Sync via PC/Laptop connected to the internet)

Power Charging: Yes (via PC-USB or ZEN USB Power Adapter (sold separately))

Video Playback Formats3: WMV9, MPEG4-SP3, DivX3 4/5 and XviD3

Up to 640 x 480 video size

Audio Playback Formats: MP3, WMA (DRM9), WAV (IMA-ADPCM) Audible4, AAC4, FLAC4.

Photo Formats Supported: JPEG, BMP (TIFF, GIF, PNG to be converted with bundled software)

Battery: Built-in Li-ion battery

FM Radio: Built-in FM Radio with 32 preset stations

EQ Settings: 8 presets and 5-band custom EQ

Organizer: Clock, Alarm, Calendar, Task, and Contacts

Album Art: Yes

Voice Recording: Yes

Built-in speaker: Yes

Connectivity: USB 2.0

Quite an impressive spec list, but I would expect nothing less from Creative who is famed for giving the user a heap of cool extras to play with.

content/3/3/3376_23.jpg

Like other portables out there at the moment, the Zen Style comes in 8, 16 and 32GB models. For testing I received the 8GB model, which is certainly more than ample to firstly understand the beast I'm dealing with and also to store a behemoth of your favorite music.

I would be inclined to think that the larger models are aimed at people wanting to also carry their video and picture stores with them on the go.

content/3/3/3376_24.jpg

The screen is quite small if I'm being honest, coming in at 2.4" with 262k colors and also being a TFT LCD. The resolution is 320 x 240 pixels.

content/3/3/3376_13.jpg

The weight is another great feature coming in at feather light 56g, which is a thing of beauty once you have the Zen in your pocket and realize how heavy other portables can be.

content/3/3/3376_12.jpg

Battery life is given as 25hrs continuous audio playback and 5hrs video playback.

Next we have the X-Fi crystallizer and expanding effects which have been carried over from previous success with the X-Fi PCI based chipset.

content/3/3/3376_09.jpg

Most audio and video formats are supported as you can see, which is an important feature itself and I think Creative took this into consideration when designing the Zen Style.

There is, however, still more. The last two really important features are the FM radio and the EQ with eight built in presets and a five-band custom EQ.

content/3/3/3376_16.jpg

Connectivity is universal thanks to USB 2.0. Of which, I could think of no better alternative.

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

USUnited States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com

UKUnited Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.co.uk

AUAustralia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.com.au

CACanada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon.ca

DEDeutschland: Finde andere Technik- und Computerprodukte wie dieses auf Amazon.de

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags