TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,029 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

ICY DOCK EZConvert Air MB382SP Storage Enclosure Review

ICY DOCK EZConvert Air MB382SP Storage Enclosure Review
Today Tyler reviews the ICY DOCK EZConvert Air. This inexpensive devices allows you to run a 2.5-inch drive inside a regular 3.5-inch storage enclosure.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Aug 28, 2014 6:16 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: ICY DOCK

TweakTown image content/6/6/6615_99_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

ICY DOCK is known for its solid portfolio of storage solutions. Solutions including adapters from 2.5" to 3.5", along with bay solutions allowing you to mount four 3.5" drive in three 5.25" bays, and even storage enclosures to fit whatever your need may be.

 

In the lab today, we take a look at the latest EZConvert solution from ICYDOCK, the Air. The EZConvert Air is a 2.5" SATA to 3.5" solution featuring support for drives in the 7 to 15mm z-height size range. The Air features a largely open-air design with a stainless drive tray, allowing maximum airflow to keep your drives cool. Compatibility of the EZConvert Air extends to and 3.5" bay with a SATA connection.

 

MSRP of the ICYDOCK EZConvert Air is listed at $24.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6615_03_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the EZConvert Air includes the drive adapter, screws, and reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6615_04_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Looking at the EZConvert Air, we first noticed the plastic hold down that is spring loaded to keep your drive immobile.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6615_05_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Above, you can see the SATA connections for data and power are placed correctly for wide compatibility.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6615_06_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

In the previous image, we installed a SanDisk Optimus SAS SSD as the connection inside the tray carries SAS support. However, the EZConvert does not support SAS for data, so we had to switch over to a SanDisk Extreme II for testing.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6615_10_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

As the EZConvert is a straight pass-through device with a SATA bridge, we were able to achieve top performance with the solution as seen above. In our testing, we reached 542 MB/s read and 499 MB/s write.

 

The ICYDOCK EZConvert Air is a great solution for those wanting to utilize their 2.5" SSD or HDD solutions in a standard 3.5" device. Build quality is quite superb, as the drive tray is stainless steel, with a chrome plating for aesthetics.

 

Performance was great as well, with the device being a pass-through, we found no loss in performance while utilizing the EZConvert. In testing, we touched 540 MB/s read and 500 MB/s write, the same performance we found having our SanDisk Extreme II connected directly to our SATA 6Gbps ports.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the ICY DOCK EZConvert Air for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The ICY DOCK EZConvert Air retails for $23.65 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The ICY DOCK EZConvert Air retails for CDN$23.76 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/6/6615_1234_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/6/6615_100_icy_dock_ezconvert_air_mb382sp_storage_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases