TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,453 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Samsung EVO 32GB SDHC UHS I Memory Card Review

Samsung EVO 32GB SDHC UHS I Memory Card Review
Today Tyler takes a close look at Samsung's EVO 32GB SDHC UHS I memory card. If performance is not much of a concern, and you need capacity, take a look. (KRX:005930)
| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Aug 23, 2014 6:22 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Samsung

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_99_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

 

As of late, we have seen the introduction of UHS II, along with the addition of a Speed Class 3 added to the UHS I specification. Today, we take a step back and look our very first SD solution from Samsung, the EVO 32GB UHS I.

 

The Samsung EVO UHS I is a SDHC solution catered to the average consumer wanting capacity for their cameras, camcorders and other mobile solutions. This card carries both a Speed Class 10 designation, along with its UHS I spec enabling 48 MB/s transfer speeds.

 

MSRP for the Samsung EVO in the 32GB capacity is set at $24.99 with a ten-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_02_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the EVO has it houses in a bubble type container. Capacity is listed prominently on the front next to the marketing specifications.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_03_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Above, we have our first look at the card. The EVO carries the standard form factor for SD cards and features an orange on white aesthetic.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_04_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The backside of the card houses model numbers along with other identifying marks.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_10_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The Samsung EVO UHS I is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.2GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_11_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

 

CrystalDiskMark results for the EVO came in at 46 MB/s read and 19.8 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_12_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

 

The price/performance for the EVO landed the card near the bottom of the chart.

 

The Samsung EVO is a great solution for those wanting a capacity oriented storage solution. The build quality of the card was great and even more backed by a ten-year warranty adding to the value of the overall package.

 

The Samsung EVO 32GB UHS I solution didn't go too well in our price/performance chart, largely due to the fact we have seen some of the highest performing solution come through the lab in previous months. In our quick CDM testing, we did manage to reach 42 MB/s read, falling just short of the 48 MB/s set forth by marketing.

 

However, it does offer a decent amount of performance for your dollar, especially if you are one that wants storage capacity over a high performance solution.

 

TweakTown image 6/6/6603_1234_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/6/6603_100_samsung_evo_32gb_sdhc_uhs_i_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases