TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,073 Reviews & Articles | 38,999 News Posts

Corsair Voyager Air 2 1TB Mobile Storage Device Review

Corsair Voyager Air 2 1TB Mobile Storage Device Review
Corsair returns with the Voyager Air 2 with 1TB of portable storage capacity. Read on as we take a close look at this mobile storage solution.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Jul 23, 2014 6:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Corsair

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_99_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

 

In addition to the recently released Flash Voyager GTX, Corsair also recently launched the second generation of their mobile storage solution, the Voyager Air 2.

 

The Voyager Air 2 carries on Corsair's commitment to delivering solutions that enrich and simplify end-user's life. With this, Corsair has added the ability to use the drive wirelessly with your PC or Mac, along with the traditional smartphone and tablet. Physically, the device has shrunk by a considerable margin, while the internals have remained relatively similar. As of this time, the Voyager Air 2 is available in a single capacity at 1TB.

 

MSRP of the Voyager Air 2 in the 1TB capacity is listed at $179.99 with a three-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_02_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the Voyager Air 2 advertises the media functionality of the unit. Capacity is listed in the bottom right corner.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_03_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging alludes to the apps for iOS and Android.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_04_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the Voyager Air 2 is rather simple. We have the device, a USB 3.0 cable and reading materials.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_05_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The front edge of the Voyager Air 2 houses the power and wireless buttons, along with a full set of LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_06_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the USB 3.0 connection for storing media on the device.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_07_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

 

Here we have our first look at the redesigned Voyager Air app for iOS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_08_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

As you can see in the previous image, on the left of the landing of the app, we have the menu for parsing between media types.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_09_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

 

The settings menu allows you to change several parameters for the drive, these include the wireless pass through and drive name.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_10_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

 

Further down the settings menu, we found options for Dropbox and Google drive, if you are one that uses one of those cloud storage services.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_12_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

 

So, just how fast is the Voyager Air 2? Well, we ran the device through CDM in quick order and came up with 114 MB/s read and 114 MB/s write, which is quite good for a capacity driven device.

 

The Corsair Voyager Air 2, I would say is a successful deployment of a second generation mobile storage solution. It does appear that Corsair went back to the drawing board with a smaller footprint in mind, and came out with just that. As I alluded to in the introduction, the internals of this device match what I found in the original Voyager Air, so what we have gained in gen 2 is the smaller footprint and with that a much improved price tag.

 

Performance of the Voyager Air 2 was well within expectations being hard drive based. In our testing, we were able to muster 114 MB/s read and write out of the device which should be more than plenty for the typical end-user.

 

MSRP for the Corsair Voyager Air 2 in the 1TB capacity is listed at $179.99 with a three-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Corsair Voyager Air 2 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Corsair Voyager Air 2 retails for $149.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Corsair Voyager Air 2 retails for CDN$275.84 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6528_1234_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6528_100_corsair_voyager_air_2_1tb_mobile_storage_device_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases