TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,977 Reviews & Articles | 38,621 News Posts

Strontium Nitro Plus 128GB U3 SDXC Memory Card Review

Strontium Nitro Plus 128GB U3 SDXC Memory Card Review

In the market for a high capacity SDXC memory card solution? Read on as we look at the Nitro Plus from Strontium and see how it works and performs.

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Jan 1, 1970 12:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Strontium

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_99_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

With the new U3 standard now in the wild, we have seen the likes of ADATA and Kingston send their respective solutions through the lab. Today, we take a look at the solution from Strontium.

 

The Nitro Plus is the latest from Strontium's SDXC product line. The product sent over for review is the 128GB capacity and carries marketing specifications of 80 MB/s read and 60 MB/s write. Compatibility extends to SDXC host devices, including DSLR cameras and 4K camcorders.

 

MSRP of the Strontium Nitro Plus in the 128GB flavor is listed at $169.99 with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_02_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the Nitro Plus is quite similar to the microSDXC we reviewed previously. The front of the carton houses marketing information with the card to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_03_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging gives details about the Nitro Plus.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_04_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Included with the card is data recovery software.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_05_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The card itself follows the standard SDXC design. On the front, we have the Nitro Plus brand with marketing below.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_10_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

The Strontium Nitro Plus is factory formatted with the exFAT file system, ensuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 119GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_11_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In testing, we found the card was quite capable. Here we have 93 MB/s read and 64 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_12_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Price/Performance has the Nitro Plus in the middle of our chart. This is due to the high cost, $169.99, and not the performance; this card was one of the quickest we've tested.

 

The Strontium Nitro Plus in the 128GB capacity is a very capable high capacity solution for those shooting 4K video or doing a lot of high speed shooting with a DSLR. The build quality of card is ample, and the data recovery software is something I find a plus.

 

Performance of the card was quite good as well. We were able to exceed marketing by a fair margin, coming in at 93 MB/s read and 64 MB/s write. Price/Performance, however, put the card in the middle of the pack. Another thing of note is this card is not sold in the United States at this time.

 

The Strontium Nitro Plus in the 128GB capacity carries an MSRP of $169.99 with a very nice lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6509_1234_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6509_100_strontium_nitro_plus_128gb_u3_sdxc_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases