TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,136 Reviews & Articles | 39,422 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Strontium Nitro Plus 64GB U3 MicroSDXC Memory Card Review

Strontium Nitro Plus 64GB U3 MicroSDXC Memory Card Review
We look at the latest microSD from Strontium, the Nitro Plus. Follow on as Tyler tells us all about this new 64GB U3 MicroSDXC memory card.
| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Jul 10, 2014 6:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Strontium

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_99_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Over the last month, we have seen quite a few UHS Speed Class 3 SD cards come through the lab. These cards are purpose built for 4K video, and today we look at our very first in the microSD format.

 

The Strontium Nitro Plus is a new line of cards being introduced in 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB capacities. Marketing specifications dictate we should see 80 MB/s read and 60 MB/s write. Compatibility of the 64GB model we have in-house allows only microSDXC host devices.

 

MSRP of the Strontium Nitro Plus microSDXC in the 64GB flavor is listed at $94.99 with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_02_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the Nitro Plus carries plenty of color along with added value via a mobility kit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_03_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging gives capacity information about the card.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_04_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Inside the packaging, we have a key for MyBackup Pro for Android users.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_05_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Here we have the full kit laid out. As you can see, we have two adapters for connecting the Nitro Plus. The Nitro Plus itself has been colored gold this time around to signify this is the top of the line product from Strontium.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_10_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The Strontium Nitro Plus 64GB UHS I Class 3 microSDXC card is factory formatted with the exFAT file system. Useable capacity after formatting stands at 60.3GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_11_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Starting with some testing, we found the Nitro Plus coming in at 93 MB/s read and 69 MB/s write, just above marketing specifications.

 

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_12_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Price/Performance takes the Nitro Plus 64GB and sits it right behind the Nitro we reviewed a few months back.

 

The Strontium Nitro Plus in the 64GB capacity tested here today, while being a hefty initial investment, does carry a limited lifetime warranty with it. Build quality seems to be on par with other brand cards I have tested, and I had no issues with the card or its accompanying adapters during testing.

 

Performance of the card was rather impressive. In fact, I do believe this is the quickest of all the microSD cards I have tested. The next closest would be the SanDisk Extreme Pro we reviewed last year. Price/Performance, as you can see, has both of the Strontium cards at the top of the list, with the Nitro taking top spot and the Nitro Plus, tested today, in second place.

 

MSRP of the Strontium Nitro Plus microSDXC in the 64GB flavour is listed at $94.99 with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image 6/5/6503_1234_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/5/6503_100_strontium_nitro_plus_64gb_u3_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases