TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,066 Reviews & Articles | 38,988 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: NVIDIA releases the GeForce GTX 980, its most advanced GPU at $549

Leef Magnet 3.0 Copper 16GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Leef Magnet 3.0 Copper 16GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review
We revisit the Leef Magnet 3.0, and this time it's copper. Read on as Tyler gives us the full details on this pen drive in his review right now.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Jun 19, 2014 6:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Leef

TweakTown image content/6/4/6440_99_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Earlier this year we had the Leef Magnet 3.0 flash drive in the lab. Today, we revisit the drive, but not before Leef had time to redesign the drive with copper.

 

The Leef Magnet 3.0 Copper is available in 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB capacities, with our sample being the 16GB model. Compatibility of this flash drive extends to Windows XP, Vista, 7, and 8, along with OS X.

 

MSRP of the Leef Magnet 3.0 Copper in the 16GB flavor is listed at $19.99, with a five-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6440_02_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Being part of the Copper series from Leef, the Magnet 3.0 shares the same package design as the ICE 3.0 Copper, and Surge Copper.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6440_03_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging does carries marketing information.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6440_04_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Here we have our first look at the Magnet 3.0 Copper. As you can see, the drive carries a full enclosure made of copper, with an acrylic end offering a soft glow of the white LED.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6440_10_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The Leef Magnet 3.0 Copper is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, ensuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 14.9GB.

 

[img]11[/img]

 

CDM presented us with 75 MB/s read, and 10 Mb/s write. This performance is similar to what we found with the original Magnet 3.0.

 

TweakTown image content/6/4/6440_12_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

Price/Performance has the Magnet 3.0 Copper just above the original drive at 29%. What really helps the Magnet 3.0 Copper is its excellent price.

 

The Leef Magnet 3.0 Copper is a great drive for those that want a good amount of performance, along with aesthetic appeal from the Copper enclosure. The build quality was found to be superb, and it really compliments the drive.

 

Performance of the drive was ample; while it certainly isn't the quickest drive on the market, it does offer a decent amount of performance for those that want something that looks good.

 

The Leef Magnet 3.0 Copper in the 16GB capacity enjoys a great MSRP of $19.99.

 

TweakTown image 6/4/6440_1234_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/4/6440_100_leef_magnet_3_0_copper_16gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases