TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,432 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Kingston 64GB SDA3 SDXC UHS I Class 3 Memory Card Review

Kingston 64GB SDA3 SDXC UHS I Class 3 Memory Card Review
We look at the latest memory card from Kingston, the UHS I Class 3 SDA3 SD card. Is this new SDXC product for for you and your recording? Read on.
| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: May 24, 2014 2:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Kingston

TweakTown image content/6/3/6363_99_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.png

 

Memory cards have come a long way in the last year. The SD format has seen a few speed increases and subsequently added two new classes. The first is the new U3, or UHS I Class 3, which enhances the write speeds of the memory cards to include 4K capabilities, while the second is a bigger jump to the new UHS II standard.

 

In the lab today, we have the Kingston 64GB UHS I Speed Class 3 card. Marketing specifications for this card note 90 MB/s read speeds and 80 MB/s write speeds, perfect for shooting 4K video.

 

MSRP of the 64GB Kingston SDXC UHS I Speed Class 3 memory card is set at $159.99 with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6363_02_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The front of the memory card houses the branding and capacity information. Note the new logo for the UHS I Class 3 standard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6363_03_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Physically, UHS I Class 3 cards embody the same dimensions as previous cards.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6363_20_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.png

 

The Kingston SDA3/64GB is factory formatted with the exFAT file system. The usable capacity after formatting is 59.7GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6363_21_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Running the Kingston through CDM, we found the card was quite capable of reaching the 94 MB/s read as set forth by marketing. We also met marketing specifications with write performance at 85 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6363_22_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.png

 

Price/Performance puts the Kingston in the top three SD cards we have tested.

 

For those of you in the market, getting ready to, or already have upgraded your camera equipment to 4K capabilities, the Kingston SDA3 is certainly a great choice. Build quality is about as good as it can get with memory cards.

 

Performance of the SDA3 was quite good. In read testing, we were able to touch 95 MB/s, while write testing came in at 85 MB/s, more than doubling the standard for UHS I Class 3.

 

MSRP of the Kingston SDA3/64 is set at $159.99 with a lifetime warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Kingston SDA3/64 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Kingston SDA3/64 retails for $105.95 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Kingston SDA3/64 retails for CDN$134.69 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/3/6363_1234_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/3/6363_100_kingston_64gb_sda3_sdxc_uhs_i_class_3_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases