TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,003 Reviews & Articles | 38,747 News Posts

Zalman ZM-VE400 Encrypted External HDD Enclosure Review

Zalman ZM-VE400 Encrypted External HDD Enclosure Review

Today we take a look at one of the most unique storage enclosures to come through the labs, the VE400 from Zalman. Read on for Tyler's full thoughts on it.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | . Posted: May 23, 2014 2:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90% 100%        Manufacturer: Zalman

TweakTown image content/6/3/6362_99_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

Most of us in the past have had an external enclosure or two, storing our data that we take with us on the go. While enclosures are fairly common devices, Zalman has put a unique spin on the solution with the product we have in the lab today, the ZM-VE400.

 

Right off the bat, it's pretty obvious the VE400 isn't your standard 2.5-inch enclosure. The exterior of the unit houses a large touchpad with a small LCD screen. Zalman uses this touchpad to enable real-time 256-bit hardware encryption to secure your data. In addition to the standard storage features the VE400 encompasses, we also have the extended function where the enclosure can become a virtual BD-Rom, allowing you to mount ISO images and even boot from them.

 

Compatibility extends to Windows, Linux, and OS X. MSRP of the Zalman ZM-VE400 is listed at $59.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6362_02_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery for the VE400 includes reading materials, a carrying case, and a USB 3.0 cable for the device.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6362_03_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

As mentioned above, the front of the unit houses a large touchpad. This is used in a dual-purpose scenario where you can cycle through menu items on the LCD screen and enter your encryption key.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6362_04_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The top edge of the enclosure houses the USB 3.0 connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6362_05_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The back of the unit houses a cover that is removable to install your choice of a 2.5-inch SSD or HDD.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6362_10_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

 

To test the USB 3.0 capabilities of the VE400, we installed a 200GB Seagate 600 Pro in the enclosure. As you can see above, the Zalman does carry an ample amount of performance, touching 240 MB/s read and 263 MB/s write.

 

The Zalman VE400 has to be one of the most unique devices I have had the chance to test in the last year. Not only can this device be your on-the-go storage solution, the ability to encrypt your data is certainly a plus. Furthermore, for those of you that build a lot of systems or manage multiple systems, the ability to store all of your ISO files in a single folder and then mount and boot from them is truly amazing in my book.

 

Build quality of the VE400 is quite good, with the only downfall I found to be the touchpad not being very sensitive. Performance of the unit via USB 3.0 was more then acceptable and by no means slow. We were able to reach 240 MB/s read and 263 MB/s write with ease.

 

MSRP of the Zalman VE400 is set at $59.99 with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the Zalman VE400 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The Zalman VE400 retails for $59.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The Zalman VE400 retails for CDN$67.77 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/3/6362_1234_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/3/6362_100_zalman_zm_ve400_encrypted_external_hdd_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases