TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,915 Reviews & Articles | 38,114 News Posts

Kingston 32GB microSD Mobility Kit Review

Kingston 32GB microSD Mobility Kit Review

We take a look at the Mobility Kit, a value based solution from Kingston. It includes a microSD memory card and an SD adapter and USB adapter.

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: May 22, 2014 2:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Kingston

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_99_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.png

 

MicroSD cards have been around since mid-2005. Initially designed to be used in smartphones where space was at a premium, these cards have now evolved and are being used in many devices.

 

Kingston, being one of the largest vendors in non-volatile memory solutions, has put together what they are calling the mobility kit. This solution gives you a 4, 8, 16, or 32GB microSD card in your choice of Class 4 or UHS I Class 10 with the added bonus of a SD adapter and USB adapter. The model we had sent over for review today is the 32GB UHS I Class 10 solution.

 

Compatibility extends to modern Windows operating system, OS X 10.5+, and Linux kernel 2.6+ support.

 

MSRP for the Kingston Mobility Kit in the 32GB flavour is listed at $19.99 with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_02_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery includes the microSD card along with both adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_03_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.jpg

 

The USB adapter for the kit allows you to insert the microSD card in the back of the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_04_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.jpg

 

Here we have the microSD to SD adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_20_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.png

 

The 32GB Kingston microSD is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, ensuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.8GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_21_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The previous image shows the results from CDM. As you can see, our card was able to touch 30 MB/s read and 10 MB/s write, which is right in line with class standards.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_22_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.png

 

Above, we have our Price/Performance chart where we find the Kingston kit coming in at 80 percent thanks to its amazing price and relatively good performance.

 

The Kingston Mobility Kit is one of those products that you really don't know you need until you have it. At this point, you find yourself using it on a consistent basis just because it's so handy to have both adapters.

 

Performance of the 32GB microSD was on par with UHS I specifications, coming in at 10.7 MB/s write, while read speeds were topping 30 MB/s.

 

For anyone that needs storage on their smartphone or a small digital camera that uses the technology, the Kingston Mobility kit is the all-in-one solution for you to take video, photos, and store data on your mobile devices, and then return home and offload to your PC or Macintosh.

 

MSRP of the 32GB Kingston Mobility Kit is set at $19.99 with a lifetime warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the 32GB Kingston Mobility Kit for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The 32GB Kingston Mobility Kit retails for $19.95 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The 32GB Kingston Mobility Kit retails for CDN$29.98 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/3/6359_1234_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/3/6359_100_kingston_32gb_microsd_mobility_kit_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases