TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

ASRock Rack 1U12LW-C2750 12-Bay Storage Server Review - Inside the 1U12LW-C2750 Server

ASRock Rack 1U12LW-C2750 12-Bay Storage Server Review
Intel's Atom processor has taken several twists and turns over the last year. ASRock Rack takes the new Avoton 8-core model to storage servers.
| Network Storage in IT/Datacenter | Posted: May 8, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: ASRock Rack

Inside the 1U12LW-C2750 Server

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_14_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

The heart of the system is a Mini-ITX motherboard that ASRock sells as a stand-alone component if you don't need the full server kit.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_15_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

Two 2.5-inch HDD bays on the right of the server can hold hard drives, but it becomes a tight fit if you install a PCIe card.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_16_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

Here we have a half-height, half-depth PCIe card installed in the server.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_17_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

We didn't find a lot wrong with the server, but there were a few issues that popped up. We see the first here. The sharp pins sticking out of the PCIe adapter can rub against the cables.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_18_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

Most users will never need to swap out the motherboard in their server, but since we wanted to test both the 8-core Avoton and the 4-core, we needed to pull the motherboard to do so. The SATA cables are very tight and fragile. We ended up damaging two ports on two cables. We went out of pocket to replace them even though the special reverses (SFF-8087 to SATA reverse) are difficult to find.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_19_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

Fan replacement is quick and easy with ASRock's simple mounting components. The barebones server even ships with a spare in the package.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_20_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

The system isn't as loud as you might expect, but it's far from quiet. This isn't a system you would use in your theater room or a regular computer room.

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_21_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

Three rows of four drives gives this server unmatched capacity in a 1U form factor.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_22_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

The drives mount to metal cages, and then the cages slide into the server. 2.5-inch and 3.5-inch form factor drives are supported.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_23_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

The drives then slide into place, and the cage locks in place with a single thumb screw.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_24_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

The backplane uses an SFF-8087 connector, so you get full speed without funneling the data through an expander.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_25_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

Each backplane has two power connectors to split the power.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_26_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.png

 

The 250-watt power supply is rated 80 Plus Bronze.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6315_27_asrock_rack_1u12lw_c2750_12_bay_storage_server_review.jpg

 

Here we see the system fully loaded with twelve drives installed in the bays. With 4 TB drives, you can get 48TB in a 1U space. New 6TB drives increase the density to a massive 72TB! We used Seagate 4TB NAS drives for our final test even though you see Western Digital Reds in this image.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases