TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,997 Reviews & Articles | 38,721 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Counter-Strike gamer live streams SWAT team breach into his room

D-Link DHP-601AV 600Mbps Powerline Starter Kit Review

D-Link DHP-601AV 600Mbps Powerline Starter Kit Review

The DHP-601AV from D-Link offers up 600Mbps of Powerline connectivity. Read on as we explore the performance and work out if it's worth buying or not.

| Powerline in Networking | Posted: Apr 25, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: D-Link

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_99_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.png

 

Powerline networking has evolved over the last few years to become a reliable solution to extending wired networks across your home. With powerline solutions, we can move our wired networks from floor to floor in our homes without the need for drilling and fishing Cat-5 cables through walls and floors.

 

The D-Link 601AV is a powerline solution capable of delivering 600Mbps through your home's existing electrical lines. Each of the endpoints feature gigabit Ethernet connectivity while also supporting power save mode for low energy consumption. When the powerline adapters are at work, D-Link says they consume just 3.7 watts.

 

MSRP of the D-Link DHP-601AV is set at $99.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_02_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.jpg

 

The DHP-601AV kit came packaged in the standard egg crate. Here you can see both endpoints.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_03_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.jpg

 

Scope of delivery included a quick install guide, two Ethernet cables, and two adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_04_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.jpg

 

Looking at the front of the unit, we find a set of LEDs denoting power, quality of your home electrical connection, and LAN connectivity.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_05_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the adapter house the gigabit LAN connections next to the pairing button.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_06_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.jpg

 

The back houses the standard plug used in the USA.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_10_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.png

 

Here is the testing layout for the chart that follows.

 

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_11_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.png

 

The DHP-601AV came in at 168Mbps at location one and 123Mbps at location two. When we moved the second endpoint to location three, we found the D-Link to carry the worst throughput at 70.6Mbps.

 

The D-Link DHP-601AV is a great solution for those wanting to extend their wired network without the ability to run massively long lengths of Cat-5. Yours results will certainly vary based on the quality and age of your home's electrical wiring along with the amount of junctions and devices plugged in.

 

Build quality of the 601AV kit was pretty good; the plastic housings of the endpoints felt quite good and durable, and the LED lights were enough to let me know the status of the units.

 

Performance in our testing was good, but it could have been better. This, as stated above, could directly reflect the quality of wiring in my own home, so we shall look for a better solution in testing devices like these. At its peak, we were able to reach 168 Mbps at location one and 70 Mbps at the furthest location.

 

MSRP of the D-Link DHP-601AV is set at $99.99 with a one-year warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the D-Link DHP-601AV for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The D-Link DHP-601AV retails for $88.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The D-Link DHP-601AV retails for CDN$99.99 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/2/6275_1234_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/2/6275_100_d_link_dhp_601av_600mbps_powerline_starter_kit_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases