TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,003 Reviews & Articles | 38,747 News Posts

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review

When it comes to dual-socket 2011 workstation motherboards, ASUS came up with one of the best you can get. They held back nothing on the Z9PE-D8 WS. (TPE:2357)

| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 4, 2014 3:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99% 100%        Manufacturer: ASUS

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_01_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Workstations come in all sizes and form factors, from mid-range single-socket systems to powerful dual-socket systems. For a high-end workstation, a user looks at dual-socket 2011 systems to crunch though massive datasets used in video encoding, AutoCAD, SolidWorks, or other types of applications that need heavy duty power.

 

The Z9PE-D8 WS workstation motherboard has been out for a while now, and it is the go-to motherboard for many when building high-end workstations or even servers.

 

This motherboard has a huge set of features, so let us look at what this motherboard has to offer.

 

- Enhanced parallel GPU computing power with seven PCIe-x16 3.0 slots.

- The motherboard is able to use many different types of memory.

- The Z9PE-D8 WS provides Server-level compatibility with RAID and LAN cards.

- One click SSD Caching boosts system performance.

- Extra SATA 6 Gb/s ports.

- DTS Connect to improve your PC audio experience.

- The Z9PE-D8 WS also supports 4-way SLI and Quad-GPU CrossFireX.

- Support for Intel Xeon Phi 3100 Coprocessor series (active fan SKU only) and NVIDIA Tesla K20C GPU accelerators.

 

Let us look at what you get in the retail package.

 

 

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_02_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the front of the retail box, it shows many of the features that this motherboard has to offer. The retail box actually has an outer sleeve that fits over the whole box that opens up to show the feature list.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_03_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back of the retail box, we again see a breakdown of additional features of the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_04_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking the other sleeve off and opening up the retail box, we can see the motherboard packed in its anti-static bag.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_05_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

After we remove the motherboard, we find two accessory boxes in the bottom of the retail box. You can see by the list this motherboard comes with just about anything you might ever need.

 

The total list of accessories is:

 

- Two Driver DVDs

- User's manual

- ASUS Q-Shield

- Two COM port cables

- Eight SATA 3Gb/s cables

- Six SATA 6Gb/s cables

- One 3-Way SLI bridge

- One 4-Way SLI bridge

- One SLI bridge

- One 2-port USB 2.0 + 1394 bracket

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_06_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

In one of the boxes, we find a mix of SATA cables and SLI bridges.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_07_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Accessories include plenty of extra ports that connect to headers on the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_08_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Here we see the user manual, driver disks, and I/O plate.

 

Yes, we prefer printed user manuals over a PDF.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases