TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,211 Reviews & Articles | 40,195 News Posts

CalDigit T3 Thunderbolt RAID Enclosure Review - Three Drive Thunderbolt Storage for your Mac or PC - CalDigit T3 Thunderbolt RAID

CalDigit T3 Thunderbolt RAID Enclosure Review - Three Drive Thunderbolt Storage for your Mac or PC
High capacity, high performance external storage from CalDigit for your Mac or PC. We take the T3 Thunderbolt RAID for a spin in the lab.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Feb 27, 2014 3:11 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: CalDigit

CalDigit T3 Thunderbolt RAID

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6107_02_caldigit_t3_thunderbolt_raid_enclosure_review_three_drive_thunderbolt_storage_for_your_mac_or_pc.jpg

 

Packaging for the T3 has a nice image of the enclosure front and center; around the box, we notice the bright color choices attracting our eyes. Features of the T3 are listed out along the left side.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6107_03_caldigit_t3_thunderbolt_raid_enclosure_review_three_drive_thunderbolt_storage_for_your_mac_or_pc.jpg

 

Scope of delivery includes the power adapter, tray keys, and the enclosure. Something of noteworthiness is a Thunderbolt cable is not included with the T3; you can purchase it from CalDigit for $29.99.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6107_04_caldigit_t3_thunderbolt_raid_enclosure_review_three_drive_thunderbolt_storage_for_your_mac_or_pc.jpg

 

The front of the CalDigit T3 carries the same drive tray design as the AV Pro we reviewed awhile back. Each tray is numbered to the right, with corresponding LEDs at the bottom. The entirety of the main frame of the enclosure is a single piece aluminum enclosure, with both the front and back being separate pieces of aluminum.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6107_05_caldigit_t3_thunderbolt_raid_enclosure_review_three_drive_thunderbolt_storage_for_your_mac_or_pc.jpg

 

The backside of the enclosure houses a lock slot, dual Thunderbolt ports, and the power connection. Above the connections is a 80mm fan for cooling the internal components and drives.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6107_06_caldigit_t3_thunderbolt_raid_enclosure_review_three_drive_thunderbolt_storage_for_your_mac_or_pc.jpg

 

The drives included in our sample of the CalDigit T3 came in three modules, each being 2TB models manufactured by Toshiba.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6107_07_caldigit_t3_thunderbolt_raid_enclosure_review_three_drive_thunderbolt_storage_for_your_mac_or_pc.jpg

 

The Thunderbolt controller used in the T3 is the DSL3510L, a four channel PCIe 2.0 x4 design.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6107_08_caldigit_t3_thunderbolt_raid_enclosure_review_three_drive_thunderbolt_storage_for_your_mac_or_pc.jpg

 

To bridge the SATA interface to PCIe, CalDigit chose to use three of the ASMedia ASM1061 6Gb/s capable controllers.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases